How long can I run my laptop continuously?

Status
Not open for further replies.

thehacker

Hi,
My laptop is HP Pavillion dv4 1131tx.
I want to know that how many hours can I leave my laptop running continuously?
1.With lid open
2.With lid closed

and is it a good practice?

I read on some other forum that lcd of one's lapy stopped working after 4days of continuous stress. I dont have any work for keeping it on. I just have a thrill of keeping it on always and being online.

One more thing, I am a student.So, I dont want to take any risk,if any involved in this,although I have 4months warranty left.

Thanks in advance
Regards
TheHacker

Laptops have things like Hibernate, and Sleep modes that control the on time. If you like to keep your laptop powered on for days at a time, you will have to change the hibernate and sleep settings. Heat is a bad thing for laptop computers. If you don't use a cooling pad, or you don't keep a powered laptop off a bed or floor. You would do better by turning it off daily, say at least for 12 hours or so. It will last longer

standby and hibernate operate differently:
  • standby suspends the programs and keeps memory alive at the cost of battery drain
  • hibernate writes memory to the HD (hibernate.sys) and does a shutdown
A system can be held in hibernation as long as you want --
I use it on my laptop and perform a cold shudown/restart only about every 10 days.

This is not the same thing as running on battery only. The battery life is very dependent
upon the hardware and the features you are using.

First of all,thank you all for your help.

I dont want to keep my laptop just switched on.I want to be online on messengers all the time. Surely this is not possible by keeping my laptop ih hibernate or sleep mode.

If I run my lapy all the time,not in sleep or hibernate mode, how much the life of battery will be reduced? any quantitative idea for this??

Hi.