My first computer build - budget $800-$900

raimeiken

I've never built a computer before but I'm pretty tech savvy guy. I don't know why I've never attempted to build one. We've always gotten our computers from Dell, but I think it's time to finally build one myself.

Here's the budget for the build - $800 - $900
I already have the monitor, keyboard and mouse.

This build will be used for basic computer use like web browsing, word processing, Photoshop, etc. and also I would like to be capable of playing HD content like HD movies. I would like it to have a blu-ray drive as well (read and write)

I've decided I want to go with an Intel i7 (it's the hotness right now right? lol)

I want it to have at least 4gb of RAM but also I want it to be upgradeable in the future up to maybe 8 or 12gb.

As for harddrive space. I want it to have at least 1TB. Also I've noticed from reading around other people's builds that people are using a separate sdd harddrive for the OS?

I don't know much about the other parts like the Graphics card, sound card, case, motherboard, powersupply, etc.

I just need some recommendation on what type or what brand to get since I've never done this before. I don't know which parts are compatible or which brands are good.

thanks in advance

-John

Ahh, your asking a lot out of $900. Sorry, but will that $900 include an OS and programs?
May I assume no games?

Antec EarthWatts EA-500D Green 500W ATX12V v2.3 / EPS12V 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply
Intel Core i7-950 Bloomfield 3.06GHz LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor BX80601950
GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R LGA 1366 Intel X58 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL8T-6GBRM
LG Black 10X Blu-ray Burner - Bulk SATA WH10LS30 LightScribe Support - OEM
SAPPHIRE 100291L Radeon HD 5450 (Cedar) 512MB 64-bit DDR2 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card