My new gaming computer

Status
Not open for further replies.

dubnubb

Hi.
I am very new with current computing hardware but am hoping to get educated.
My computer is outdated and i need to fill the box with some new gear for the game AoC.

Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Dual Core Processor LGA775 3.0GHZ Wolfdale 1333FSB 6MB Retail

ASUS P5K ATX LGA775 P35 DDR2 2PCI-E16 3PCI 1PCI-E1 SATA2 Sound GBLAN 1394 Motherboard

ASUS GeForce 9800GTX 675MHZ 512MB 2.2GHZ GDDR3 PCI-E Dual DVI-I HDCP HDTV Out Video Card

Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X4096-6400C5 4GB DDR2 2X2GB PC2-6400 DDR2-800 CL 5-5-5-18 240PIN Memory Kit

Antec Truepower Trio 650W Power Supply ATX12V V2.0 Active PFC SLI Certified 120MM Fan

Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB SATA2 3GB/S 7200RPM 16MB Cache NCQ Hard Drive

The above are what i have chosen as general ideas and am hoping to get feedback from some intelligent minds...all info/flames are appreciated!!

(already gots a dvd drive and antec sonata case)

Maybe one day i can help out others with such info hehe:p

The P5K gonna be updated with the P5Q series.... shouldn't be much different tho.

Also, you don't need to stick with asus for the graphics card, but that isn't a problem. I just find Asus gfx cards are overpriced.

other than that, looks good.

thanks so much...
i just realized that the mobo i mentioned is not sli(so if i want to upgrade performance in future) ready...so i was thinking along the lines of this:

ASUS P5N-D 750I SLI LGA775 ATX DDR2 2PCI-E16 2PCI-E1 2PCI 1394A GBLAN Motherboard

Usually, the performance benefit from having a second card is not that great. You get 50% performance for paying the full price. I'd recommend a single powerful card compared to two less powerful cards delivering the same performance, especially considering other factors like heat output and power consumption. I'd recommend the P5K or the P5E instead of the SLI motherboard.