No audio device installed?

By raven96
Dec 6, 2005
Post New Reply
  1. LookinAround

    LookinAround TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 8,358   +167

    Try this driver. Install and reboot. Let me know if it works <fingers crossed :) >
  2. HELPmeNOaudio

    HELPmeNOaudio Newcomer, in training

    Help

    Okay, here the thing, my computer has no volume. when i go to control pannel and bring up audio control it says theres no Audio Device, And im not smart with computers! and i cannot live without volume, i was reading older posts' but it says check bios? how do i open bios? i have no clue and i have a 2002 or 2003 dell, if that helps. and someone please help me!!! i would really appreciate it!! reply to this please help!
  3. avinashtauro

    avinashtauro Newcomer, in training

    Works on windows 7

    I was having trouble with sound for a long time and this worked for me.
    arctechblog.com/index.php/2010/10/10/tips-tricks/no-audio-output-device-installed-on-windows-7
  4. laurisaW

    laurisaW Newcomer, in training

    Hi

    Okay so heres my problem,
    I was listening to Itunes yesterday, and then today i went to go listen to a song and the sound wasnt playing AT ALL. The speaker icon showed that the sound wasnt on Mute nor was it on a quiet volume. Im not sure what exactly i did after that as now the speaker icon is saying that "The Audio SErvice is not running" :| im not sure what to do, and also just to add that the device manager is showing that there is no devices that are currently there. Im not sure how to even start to fix it. Please help would be appreciated.
  5. hrey48

    hrey48 Newcomer, in training

    I have an aspire one laptop and now its not playing any sound

    it was working fine and now nothing come outs when i play music. I plugged in my head phones and nothing but when i pluge in surround sound with a usb conection it work...

    with out that i cant get any sound at all, i keep getting this messege that says "there might not be a sound device installed on your computer, it might be in use by another program, or might not be unctioning properly.

    the os is windows xp
  6. LookinAround

    LookinAround TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 8,358   +167

    Hi hrey48

    Welcome to TechSpot.

    just fyi... Normally it's best that you open a new thread to draw readers' attention to your own thread that discusses your own specific problem and symptoms

    But since we're here already (and we're not still in the midst of discussing the other users' problem) we'll continue from here....

    Please do both the following. List any Problem Devices
    • Make sure devices are connected and powered on
    • Click Start->Run, enter: msinfo32. Click the + sign next to Components to expand it
    • Click Problem Devices. Anything appear?
    • If yes, click on it, Ctrl-A to select all, Ctrl-C to copy it, Ctrl-V to paste into next post
    • On the other hand, if no devices are listed, tell me so
    Generate and attach a DirectX report
    • Click Start->Run, enter dxdiag
    • Notice progress in lower left window corner
    • When done, click Save Information button and save to your Desktop
    • In TechSpot, use the paper clip icon to attach the report. (If you don't see icon you may need to first click Go Advanced)
  7. hrey48

    hrey48 Newcomer, in training

    new thread will do thanks

    This are the problem devices

    Not Available HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC&DEV_0272&SUBSYS_1025022F&REV_1000\4&1BBEC33C&0&0001 The drivers for this device are not installed.
    Video Controller PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27A6&SUBSYS_022F1025&REV_03\3&21436425&0&11 The drivers for this device are not installed.
    Video Controller (VGA Compatible) PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27AE&SUBSYS_022F1025&REV_03\3&21436425&0&10 This device is not configured correctly.
    Webcam USB\VID_04F2&PID_B084\5&9147FBA&0&2 This device is disabled.

    Attached Files:

  8. LookinAround

    LookinAround TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 8,358   +167

    Your best bet is to first try downloading the drivers from the Acer Support site HERE. But they list many different models for the Aspire One. You need to know the exact model (there's usually a tag somewhere on the laptop).

    It looks like your missing both video driver plus High Definition audio device drivers.
  9. hrey48

    hrey48 Newcomer, in training

    thanks i found the drivers but i took a while to get the right ones and i will start the new thread next time
  10. rolotwist

    rolotwist Newcomer, in training

    Help

    hey can someone please help me. my sound went a couple of days ago and it says no audio devices. i have tried restarting the computer, rebotting it and everything. here is some info on my pc

    eMACHINES 350-21G16I
    P/N L.U NAH0B. 019
    MODEL: nav51
    S/N LUNAH0B01902043AA01601
  11. LookinAround

    LookinAround TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 8,358   +167

    Try reinstalling the audio driver. Look on the emachine support download site and lookup your computer model for the drivers
     
  12. kingtaoist

    kingtaoist Newcomer, in training

    Multimedia Audio Controller PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_24C5&SUBSYS_217914A4&REV_02\3&13C0B0C5&0&FD The drivers for this device are not installed.
    USB Device USB\VID_093A&PID_2628\5&5955AD9&0&1 The drivers for this device are not installed.

    ive read all the past post and i still dont have any sound.. nothing is working at all,ive tried everything..i hope you can help me solve my problem

    Attached Files:

  13. LookinAround

    LookinAround TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 8,358   +167

    Hi Kingtaoist

    It appears you have an HP Compaq D220 Microtower PC? It's driver page is HERE. Download and install the Driver Audio you'll find on that page.

    Do you also have a webcam not working?? It looks like you might also have an iLook 300 webcam?
  14. kingtaoist

    kingtaoist Newcomer, in training

    yeah.. tnx
    are you some kind of genius?? tnx man
    how'd you know all this stuff? can i apply as your apprentice or something? :D
  15. Cinders

    Cinders TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 1,313   +12

    He simply opened the DXdiag.txt file you attached to your post and read the first few lines. It tells the make and model of your computer.
  16. rema

    rema Newcomer, in training

    Ok I have Dell E310 using xp home. When I go into Device Manag, under Sound, Video and game controllers I have the following:

    Audio Codecs
    Legacy Audio Drivers
    Legacy Video Capture Devices
    Media Control Devices
    Unimodem Half-Duplex Audio Device
    Video Codecs

    None of these have a yellow question mark in front of them. I recently had my computer set back to factory settings. Everything is working perfectly but the audio/sound. Please help me.
  17. LookinAround

    LookinAround TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 8,358   +167

    Hi Rema

    Check the BIOS setup menu on your computer. (To enter BIOS menu for Dell;s, start tapping the F2 key like once per second immediately on power up. You should enter BIOS after the Dell flash screen and before the Windows startup screen)

    Look through all the BIOS setup screens. For desktops, is probably an onboard audio option. Make sure it's not Disabled.
  18. rema

    rema Newcomer, in training

    It actually said Integrated Audio and yes, its on.
     
  19. LookinAround

    LookinAround TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 8,358   +167

    Hmmm...

    List any Problem Devices
    • Make sure devices are connected and powered on
    • Click Start->Run, enter: msinfo32. Click the + sign next to Components to expand it
    • Click Problem Devices. Anything appear?
    • If yes, click on it, Ctrl-A to select all, Ctrl-C to copy it, Ctrl-V to paste into next post
    • On the other hand, if no devices are listed, tell me so
    Generate and attach a DirectX report
    • Click Start->Run, enter dxdiag and click OK
      ===> If you’re on a 32bit computer, dxdiag will launch on its own
      ===> If you’re on a 64bit computer, you’ll see 64-bit DxDiag. Click to launch dxdiag
    • Notice progress in lower left window corner
    • When done, click Save Information button and save to your Desktop
    • In TechSpot window, use the paper clip icon to attach the report. (If you don't see icon you may need to first click Go Advanced)
  20. rema

    rema Newcomer, in training

    it wouldn't allow me to copy and paste so i took a picture...is that ok?

    Attached Files:

  21. rema

    rema Newcomer, in training

    i got it to copy and paste!!!


    Ethernet Controller PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_1064&SUBSYS_01C41028&REV_04\4&10BD256C&0&40F0 The drivers for this device are not installed.
    PCI Device PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2668&SUBSYS_01C41028&REV_04\3&172E68DD&0&D8 The drivers for this device are not installed.
  22. LookinAround

    LookinAround TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 8,358   +167

    Ah-HA! i think i see your problem (or at least a problem)
    Your computer uses High Definition Audio. You're missing the driver for the Hi Def Audio controller so Windows can't detect any audio devices. For Hi Def Audio things connect like this
    Windows <===> Hi Def Audio Controller <==> Hi Def Audio devices​
    Try this next: You should upgrade to SP3 (the driver is included in SP3). Or you need to install this MS KB if still using SP2 to get the driver (as i also see in dxdiag you're still running SP2)

    /* edit */
    btw.. you still need to install the ethernet driver for that machine too? Download that from the Dell support site for your computer model
  23. rema

    rema Newcomer, in training

    ;) Thank you. Ok, so im at the Microsoft support website and its telling me that a "hot fix download is available" here are my options:(they list the Windows XP 2x)

    Windows Server 2003 All (Global) x86 nosp UAA_HD_Audio_OOB_update
    Windows 2000 All (Global) x86 sp4 UAA_HD_Audio_OOB_update
    Windows XP All (Global) x86 sp1 UAA_HD_Audio_OOB_update
    Windows XP All (Global) x86 sp1 UAA_HD_Audio_OOB_update

    I just want o be sure because at the top it says if i download the wrong one, it can damage my system.
  24. rema

    rema Newcomer, in training

  25. LookinAround

    LookinAround TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 8,358   +167

    Hmm.. i don't know why they list 2 choices for XP but would GUESS either XP choice would be OK. Or maybe best to just upgrade to SP3 and the driver comes with the SP3 upgrade.

    As for your ethernet, your ethernet controller is an Intel chip, so choose the Intel Driver listed on the dell page under Network

    /* edit */
    This is the device on the dell page Intel (R) PRO/100 VE Network Connection


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.