TechSpot

Nvidia reclaims performance crown with GeForce GTX 680

By Matthew
Mar 22, 2012
Post New Reply
  1. More RAM plz!

    Then I'll purchase.
  2. indiangamer

    indiangamer Newcomer, in training Posts: 26

    i run my 5870 overclocked which consume same power as 680 so i think i will be fine with a 680 with my 500 watt psu. and phenom 2 x6 performs alomst same as FX in games but i7 will give a big performance boost but i will wait for ivy bridge and now i will use 680 with my current PC
  3. EXCellR8

    EXCellR8 The Conservative Posts: 2,278

    Managed to get my order in on an EVGA... was lucky though I'd say under an hour later they were all gone. Time to put it up against my HD7970. The victor of the battle I will keep, the other will be sold off. WAR!!!
  4. dividebyzero

    dividebyzero trainee n00b Posts: 4,820   +651

    It's coming. Vendors have to at least sell some reference boards before the factory specials take off ( EVGA GTX 680FTW 4GB....8+6 phase power...tasty)
  5. LNCPapa

    LNCPapa TS Special Forces Posts: 4,291   +263

  6. fpsgamerJR62

    fpsgamerJR62 Newcomer, in training Posts: 489

    This card would complement a Core i7 3930K nicely plus the shorter length and lower TDP makes it attractive in SLI configurations. If only the price drops a little bit. :)
  7. amstech

    amstech TechSpot Enthusiast Posts: 828   +212

    I love it when people post thier builds in the comment section thinking their impressing others.
    Come to overclock.net and see some real builds. :D
  8. indiangamer

    indiangamer Newcomer, in training Posts: 26

    where is techspot 680 review
  9. dividebyzero

    dividebyzero trainee n00b Posts: 4,820   +651

    Review boards might be in short supply. Seems NL.Hardware has cornered the market...

    Associated GTX 680 Quad-SLI video on YouTube >>here<<
  10. You have a 7970 and you just orderd a GTX 680. I just got to ask WTF! and WHY?
  11. LNCPapa

    LNCPapa TS Special Forces Posts: 4,291   +263

    Perhaps a second machine?
     
  12. indiangamer

    indiangamer Newcomer, in training Posts: 26

    i will not like play in such a wire mesh lol
  13. Nvidia must be laughing all the way to bank,this card was meant to be a GTX 660/70,so i hope AMD have something up their sleeve.
  14. Ultraman1966

    Ultraman1966 Newcomer, in training Posts: 72

    The price must come down, especially as few people can afford +400 quid on just a graphics card. However, it might follow suit like the 580 which commanded 350 quid up till last month... craziness!
  15. captainawesome

    captainawesome TechSpot Guru Posts: 411   +42

    TS, how far is your review? I have read the Anandtech reviews but I prefer yours :)
  16. LNCPapa

    LNCPapa TS Special Forces Posts: 4,291   +263

    My 680s have been about 1 hour away from me (driving) for the last 5 hours... so since it's UPS I think I may have them tomorrow :)

    Guess what I just got in!!!!!
    [​IMG]
  17. LNCPapa

    LNCPapa TS Special Forces Posts: 4,291   +263

    Okay - just got my setup done (seems my MSI Afterburner in my startup was causing repeated Red Screens of Death) so here are some of my benches. I've included my old Quadfire 5970 benches in for reference. I'll continue adding to this post so you can see the difference.

    The new 3.0 version of the Heaven Benchmark.

    http://www.duke.edu/~mepm/files/benchmarks/BeefyArm_unigine_20120308_2209.html
    http://www.duke.edu/~mepm/files/benchmarks/BeefyArm_unigine_20120327_1630.html

    Farcry 2 benchmark:

    http://www.duke.edu/~mepm/files/benchmarks/Farcry2/BeefyArm_120308/
    http://www.duke.edu/~mepm/files/benchmarks/Farcry2/BeefyArm_120327/

    Very similar results here

    Metro 2033 benchmark:

    http://www.duke.edu/~mepm/files/benchmarks/Metro2033/BeefyArm_120309/
    http://www.duke.edu/~mepm/files/benchmarks/Metro2033/BeefyArm_120327/

    All I can say is WOW... the difference is huge

    AvP benchmark:

    http://www.duke.edu/~mepm/files/benchmarks/BeefyArm_AvP_2012-03-11_23-06-06.txt
    http://www.duke.edu/~mepm/files/benchmarks/BeefyArm_AvP_2012-03-27_16-56-23.txt

    Slightly slower results

    I'll re-run some of my other benches when I get time and compare previous results.
  18. dividebyzero

    dividebyzero trainee n00b Posts: 4,820   +651

    Everything at stock (CPU and cards) ?

    Thanks for the benches, much appreciated.
  19. LNCPapa

    LNCPapa TS Special Forces Posts: 4,291   +263

    Yes - everything is at stock except my CPU. The 5970 numbers had stock GPU timings as well. I also changed the link to the 5970 benches of Heaven since I accidentally linked a differently configured run. They should be similar settings now if you refresh.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...
Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.