Inactive [on-hold] Iexplore.exe multiple entries in task mgr

Status
Not open for further replies.

yale2500

multiple explore.exe running in task mgr. iexplore.exe constantly goes higher sometime over 200000mb. computer is slow. have scanned with Avast and Malwarebytes and found nothing. i'm not an expert so i need help in plain english. i hope it is out there. i joined here because some the posts i read - people seemed to get real help. thanks john

Welcome aboard
yahooo.gif

multiple explore.exe running in task mgr
What IE version?
Does it happen with IE open, or closed?

That's normal.
IE8 will open two iexplore.exe processes from the get go and more of them with each new tab open.
Any other issues?

iexplore.exe

I've heard that iexplore should use about 40000K to 60000K worth of memory. I always have one of the iexplore.exe that continues to increase sometimes up to 200000K or more. This happens even if only 1 tab is open. I see this in task mgr. Like right it shows 130000K.

Is this normal?

Normally, you shouldn't be concerned with RAM usage, unless you have a limited amount of RAM.
What you should be concerned with is CPU usage.

Let's see...

Please, post some computer info:
- processor type, amount of RAM (hold Windows logo key
Windows_Logo_key.gif
, hit Pause/Break key)
- hard drive size/free space (open "My Computer", right click on hard drive letter, click "Properties")
- security programs in use (antivirus, firewall)

Download Process Explorer: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/bb896653.aspx
Unzip ProcessExplorer.zip, and double click on procexp.exe to run the program.
Click on View > Select Colunms.
In addition to already pre-selected options, make sure, the Command Line is selected, and press OK.
Go File>Save As, and save the report as Procexp.txt.
Attach the file to your next reply.

System:
Microsoft Windows XP Professional
Version 2002
Service Pack 3

Compaq Evo
Mobile Intel(R) Pentium(R)
4 - M CPU 2.00GHz
1.99 GHz, 512 MB of RAM