also @ TechSpot: OCZ Vertex 450 SSD Review

TS or IP

Discussion in 'Site Feedback and Suggestions' started by kimsland, Jun 1, 2008.

Post New Reply
  1. kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 18,353

  2. Julio Franco TechSpot Editor Posts: 6,053   +121

  3. kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 18,353

    So I take it that a.k.a. techspot03 will show TechSpot (I suspect inevitably yes)
  4. mopar man TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 1,487

    I noticed that about the same time...lol.
  5. Bobbye Helper on the Fringe Posts: 16,406   +16

    Change in TechSpot URL?

    Instead of the usual 'techspot.com', the address bar is showing :

    http://74.55.96.66/vb/menu15.html

    Arin whois identifies this IP as:
    OrgName: ThePlanet.com Internet Services, Inc.

    The TechSpot Cookie I keep is gone and has been replaced by the IP. Anyone know anything about this?

    Edit to add: My logon isn't being kept. Every time I go to post, I have to sign in again. IP not working.

    Edit: thanks for moving this to the appropriate place.
  6. Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 12,022   +18

    I'm getting the same thing.
     
  7. Matthew TechSpot Staff Posts: 5,893   +53

  8. Julio Franco TechSpot Editor Posts: 6,053   +121

  9. God Of Mana TechSpot Paladin Posts: 502

    CRAP! Websense blocks the new server, this may be my LAST VISIT to TS for a while! Goodbye!
  10. poertner_1274 secroF laicepS topShceT Posts: 4,745

    Now that's funny. Why not unblock it? Maybe I don't understand the implications of Websense.....
  11. kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 18,353

    This is a really dumb question

    But what's the line I put in my hosts file
    ie
    http://74.55.96.66=http://techspot ???

    Sorry, I could work it out, but if anyone has the answer straight up, it'll help
    Note: this is to get my subscribed replies from members
  12. jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 12,228   +122

    Websense is a security service to which one subscribes. The whole point is
    the management of the access (blocked or allowed) is managed remotely (ie not by the subscriber)
  13. jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 12,228   +122

    far more simple
    Code:
    74.55.96.66    www.techspot.com
    address is in column one of the line and use a TAB or multiple spaces
    between the address and the name.

    you should see quite a list if you use MVPS.com to create your host file :)
  14. kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 18,353

    Thanks jobeard

    Actually I did have the MVPS hosts addition (lots of addresses, probably what's slowing me down, but I'll leave that part)

    Anyway, I added the correct format (thank-you)
    But I am still not receiving the subscribed threads, reply members emails

    I am aware that work continues on the Server
    But, I was informed that if I make the IP related to the site name (ie: 74.55.96.66......... www.techspot.com) it would work. But it still doesn't, all/any replies are not showing in my email (by the way, is this the same for others too?)

    I was asked to be patient by Julio, (and I understand all is not resolved) but why doesn't the site IP, when linked through hosts to the original www.techspot.com work? (maybe I should remove the www. part :confused: )

    Anyway, I'll just put up with it I suppose (note my profile subscribed threads is all ok)
  15. Julio Franco TechSpot Editor Posts: 6,053   +121

    Kim, I recently tested registering a new user and see if I received the activation and welcome emails correctly and I did.

    In other words, the new server mail system is working.

    What I'm thinking is that perhaps your ISP or email provider is blocking the incoming email because it doesn't match the DNS/IP records for the domain name? I'm just guessing here but that could make sense from a spam blocking point of view.
  16. kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 18,353

    It's that Damn new AVG Free Ver 8, it's too big now (even though I recommend it !)

    I'll check it out, thank-you, I think you're right.
  17. SNGX1275 TS Special Forces Posts: 11,893   +117

    I can confirm that I have continued to recieve "Report Bad Post" emails that are sent to the mods when someone clicks [IMG]. I was getting them before the server change, and after. I suppose there is a chance more got reported than I got emails for, but I was getting emails daily.
  18. jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 12,228   +122

    Your ISP is where that would occur, not on the recipients pop3 mailbox. If ANY email
    exits T.S, then that conjecture should be a non-issue.

    hum; I've subscribed to two forums (months ago) and not received
    nightly updates for several days now. Also not receiving thread updates.
    so some portion of the webserver is malconfigured.
  19. kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 18,353

    Thanks jobeard (and Julio too)

    Yes I understand it was not the new AVG Email scanner (or anything like that on my Pop3)
    As I turned off everything to test, and it was still the same

    Haven't actually called the ISP yet

    Regarding the IP, when is the date it'll swith to techspot?
    Seems to be taking a while
  20. Julio Franco TechSpot Editor Posts: 6,053   +121

    It should have been done by now. I have made our ISP reapply the settings tonight... just bad luck it seems.