TechSpot

Virus blocking program use

Solved
By pop2012
Jul 24, 2010
  1. I have recently picked up some sort of virus on my computer. The virus keeps me from going online by taking me to a website for Antivir Solution virus protection. I tried to go to the task manager to close this but just as it popped up, it disapeared. I tried again and the same thing happened. I went to run Avast and Malwarebytes and a window saying that they were infected by a virus and that I should go to Antivir for help.

    I booted up in safe mode and ran avast and malwarebytes and both found that there were no problems. I tried to update malwarebytes, hoping a newer version would help, but in safe mode my Linksys wireless device would not connect to the internet. I followed the 8-Step Removal System by Julio but I don't know where to go from there.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 48,033   +271

    Please download ComboFix from Here or Here to your Desktop.

    **Note: In the event you already have Combofix, this is a new version that I need you to download. It is important that it is saved directly to your desktop**
    1. Please, never rename Combofix unless instructed.
    2. Close any open browsers.
    3. Close/disable all anti virus and anti malware programs so they do not interfere with the running of ComboFix.
      • Very Important! Temporarily disable your anti-virus, script blocking and any anti-malware real-time protection before performing a scan. They can interfere with ComboFix or remove some of its embedded files which may cause "unpredictable results".
      • Click on this link to see a list of programs that should be disabled. The list is not all inclusive. If yours is not listed and you don't know how to disable it, please ask.
      NOTE. If Combofix asks you to install Recovery Console, please allow it.
      • Close any open browsers.
      • WARNING: Combofix will disconnect your machine from the Internet as soon as it starts
      • Please do not attempt to re-connect your machine back to the Internet until Combofix has completely finished.
      • If there is no internet connection after running Combofix, then restart your computer to restore back your connection.
    4. Double click on combofix.exe & follow the prompts.
    5. When finished, it will produce a report for you.
    6. Please post the "C:\ComboFix.txt"
    **Note: Do not mouseclick combofix's window while it's running. That may cause it to stall**

    Make sure, you re-enable your security programs, when you're done with Combofix.

    DO NOT make any other changes to your computer (like installing programs, using other cleaning tools, etc.), until it's officially declared clean!!!
     
  3. pop2012

    pop2012 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 35

    When I run the program, it asks to install the recovery console, but i cannot connect to the internet in safe mode to get it. The program is blocked by a window saying it is corrupt when I boot normally.
     
  4. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 48,033   +271

    Skip recovery console installation for now.
     
  5. pop2012

    pop2012 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 35

    Here you go.
     

    Attached Files:

    • log.txt
      File size:
      15.5 KB
      Views:
      1
  6. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 48,033   +271

    1. Please open Notepad
    • Click Start , then Run
    • Type notepad .exe in the Run Box.

    2. Now copy/paste the entire content of the codebox below into the Notepad window:

    Code:
    Folder::
    c:\documents and settings\Shawn\Local Settings\Application Data\lqeuynagx
    
    DDS::
    uInternet Settings,ProxyOverride = <local>
    uInternet Settings,ProxyServer = http=127.0.0.1:5643
    
    Registry::
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\software\microsoft\security center]
    "AntiVirusOverride"=-
    "FirewallOverride"=-
    [HKLM\~\services\sharedaccess\parameters\firewallpolicy\standardprofile]
    "EnableFirewall"=dword:00000001
    "DisableNotifications"=-
    
    

    3. Save the above as CFScript.txt

    4. Then drag the CFScript.txt into ComboFix.exe as depicted in the animation below. This will start ComboFix again.

    [​IMG]


    5. After reboot, (in case it asks to reboot), please post the following reports/logs into your next reply:
    • Combofix.txt
     
  7. pop2012

    pop2012 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 35

    Here it is.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 48,033   +271

    Looks good :)

    Uninstall Combofix:
    Go Start > Run [Vista users, go Start>"Start search"]
    Type in:
    Combofix /Uninstall
    Note the space between the "Combofix" and the "/Uninstall"
    Click OK (Vista users - press Enter).
    Restart computer.

    =====================================================================

    See, if you can update MBAM now and run it in normal mode.
    If so, run "Quick Scan" and post the log.
     
  9. pop2012

    pop2012 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 35

    It opened and updated without any problems.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 48,033   +271

    Very good :)

    How is computer doing at the moment?

    Download OTL to your Desktop.

    * Double click on the icon to run it. Make sure all other windows are closed and to let it run uninterrupted.
    * Under the Custom Scan box paste this in:



    netsvcs
    drivers32 /all
    %SYSTEMDRIVE%\*.*
    %systemroot%\system32\Spool\prtprocs\w32x86\*.dll
    %systemroot%\system32\*.wt
    %systemroot%\system32\*.ruy
    %systemroot%\Fonts\*.com
    %systemroot%\Fonts\*.dll
    %systemroot%\system32\spool\prtprocs\w32x86\*.tmp
    %systemroot%\*. /mp /s
    /md5start
    /md5stop
    CREATERESTOREPOINT
    %systemroot%\system32\*.dll /lockedfiles
    %systemroot%\Tasks\*.job /lockedfiles
    %systemroot%\System32\config\*.sav
    %systemroot%\system32\user32.dll /md5
    %systemroot%\system32\ws2_32.dll /md5
    %systemroot%\system32\ws2help.dll /md5
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\WindowsUpdate\AU
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\WindowsUpdate\Auto Update\Results\Install|LastSuccessTime /rs



    * Click the Quick Scan button. Do not change any settings unless otherwise told to do so. The scan wont take long.
    • When the scan completes, it will open two notepad windows: OTL.txt and Extras.txt. These are saved in the same location as OTL.
    • Please copy (Edit->Select All, Edit->Copy) the contents of these files, one at a time, and post them back here.
     
  11. pop2012

    pop2012 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 35

    The files are too big to post on the forum, should i just attach them?
     
     
  12. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 48,033   +271

    Please do.
     
  13. pop2012

    pop2012 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 35

    The computer is running much better, I can access everything without problems. There are still some annoying pop ups.

    The program only gave me an OTL.TXT log. There was no EXTRA.TXT.
     

    Attached Files:

    • OTL.Txt
      File size:
      93.2 KB
      Views:
      1
  14. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 48,033   +271

    Good news :)

    What kind of pop-ups are they?
    Does it happen only during browser usage?
    If so, what browser?
    Same issue in another browser?

    ========================================================================

    Update your Java version here: http://www.java.com/en/download/installed.jsp

    Note 1: UNCHECK any pre-checked toolbar and/or software offered with the Java update. The pre-checked toolbars/software are not part of the Java update.

    Note 2: The Java Quick Starter (JQS.exe) adds a service to improve the initial startup time of Java applets and applications. If you don't want to run another extra service, go to Start > Control Panel > Java > Advanced > Miscellaneous and uncheck the box for Java Quick Starter. Click OK and restart your computer.

    Now, we need to remove old Java version and its remnants...

    Download JavaRa to your desktop and unzip it to its own folder
    • Run JavaRa.exe (Vista users! Right click on JavaRa.exe, click Run As Administrator), pick the language of your choice and click Select. Then click Remove Older Versions.
    • Accept any prompts.

    ========================================================================

    Run OTL
    • Under the Custom Scans/Fixes box at the bottom, paste in the following

      Code:
      :OTL
      O16 - DPF: {73ECB3AA-4717-450C-A2AB-D00DAD9EE203} http://h20270.www2.hp.com/ediags/gmn2/install/HPProductDetection2.cab (Reg Error: Key error.)
      O16 - DPF: {E2883E8F-472F-4FB0-9522-AC9BF37916A7} http://platformdl.adobe.com/NOS/getPlusPlus/1.6/gp.cab (Reg Error: Key error.)
      O16 - DPF: Microsoft XML Parser for Java file://C:\WINDOWS\Java\classes\xmldso.cab (Reg Error: Key error.)
      O18 - Protocol\Handler\mhtb {669A2A3A-F19C-452D-800D-1240299756C1} - C:\Program Files\Celebrity Toolbar\mhxpcomi.dll File not found
      O33 - MountPoints2\{4ac8a3c6-9a2d-11de-a167-806d6172696f}\Shell - "" = AutoRun
      O33 - MountPoints2\{4ac8a3c6-9a2d-11de-a167-806d6172696f}\Shell\AutoRun - "" = Auto&Play
      O33 - MountPoints2\{4ac8a3c6-9a2d-11de-a167-806d6172696f}\Shell\AutoRun\command - "" = F:\Menu.exe -- [2007/05/24 23:02:10 | 000,367,104 | R--- | M] ()
      O33 - MountPoints2\F\Shell - "" = AutoRun
      O33 - MountPoints2\F\Shell\AutoRun - "" = Auto&Play
      O33 - MountPoints2\F\Shell\AutoRun\command - "" = F:\Menu.exe -- [2007/05/24 23:02:10 | 000,367,104 | R--- | M] ()
      [2010/07/28 23:31:07 | 000,000,000 | ---D | C] -- C:\Documents and Settings\Shawn\Local Settings\Application Data\ncjyamwcq
      [2010/05/23 14:36:07 | 000,000,000 | ---D | C] -- C:\Documents and Settings\Shawn\Local Settings\Application Data\wrjnigkal
      [2009/09/05 22:06:56 | 000,000,000 | ---D | M] -- C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Viewpoint
      
      
      :Services
      
      :Reg
      
      :Files
      
      :Commands
      [purity]
      [emptytemp]
      [emptyflash]
      [Reboot]
      
    • Then click the Run Fix button at the top
    • Let the program run unhindered, reboot the PC when it is done
    • You will get a log that shows the results of the fix. Please post it.
    • Open OTL again and click the Quick Scan button. Post the log it produces in your next reply.
     
  15. pop2012

    pop2012 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 35

    The popups show us when I use Internet Explorer. There are not many. They say "Internal Server Error" and explain that it cannot show the requested page, though i did not request any page.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. pop2012

    pop2012 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 35

    Also a popup for virus defence software recently started showing up.
     
  17. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 48,033   +271

    Not sure, if this is caused by any infection, but we'll keep checking.
    More info about this error: http://ask-leo.com/whats_an_internal_server_error_and_how_do_i_fix_it.html

    What you can try is to go Tools>Internet options>Advanced tab and click on "Reset" button.
    Restart IE.

    Now, last scans....

    1. Download Security Check from HERE, and save it to your Desktop.
    • Double-click SecurityCheck.exe
    • Follow the onscreen instructions inside of the black box.
    • A Notepad document should open automatically called checkup.txt; please post the contents of that document.


    2. Download Temp File Cleaner (TFC)
    Double click on TFC.exe to run the program.
    Click on Start button to begin cleaning process.
    TFC will close all running programs, and it may ask you to restart computer.


    3. Go to Kaspersky website and perform an online antivirus scan.

    • Disable your active antivirus program.
    • Read through the requirements and privacy statement and click on Accept button.
    • It will start downloading and installing the scanner and virus definitions. You will be prompted to install an application from Kaspersky. Click Run.
    • When the downloads have finished, click on Settings.
    • Make sure these boxes are checked (ticked). If they are not, please tick them and click on the Save button:
      • Spyware, Adware, Dialers, and other potentially dangerous programs
      • Archives
      • Mail databases
    • Click on My Computer under Scan.
    • Once the scan is complete, it will display the results. Click on View Scan Report.
    • You will see a list of infected items there. Click on Save Report As....
    • Save this report to a convenient place. Change the Files of type to Text file (.txt) before clicking on the Save button. Then post it here.
     
  18. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 48,033   +271

    I didn't see the above reply, so run my last steps and we'll go back to this issue afterward.
     
  19. pop2012

    pop2012 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 35

    Here are the logs.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 48,033   +271

    You didn't follow my instruction (post #14), regarding using JavaRa to get rid of old Java version.
    Please, do it now.

    Are you still getting pop-ups?
     
  21. pop2012

    pop2012 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 35

    I thought I did. I ran it again and attached the log file.

    I am still getting some popups about registry keys and virus protection.
     

    Attached Files:

  22. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 48,033   +271

    Run OTL
    • Under the Custom Scans/Fixes box at the bottom, paste in the following

      Code:
      :OTL
      
      :Services
      
      :Reg
      
      :Files
      D:\Flash Backup\Toys\thumbackup\Internet\u94.zip
      I:\Flash Backup\Toys\thumbackup\Internet\u94.zip
      
      :Commands
      [purity]
      [emptytemp]
      [emptyflash]
      [Reboot]
      
    • Then click the Run Fix button at the top
    • Let the program run unhindered, reboot the PC when it is done
    • You will get a log that shows the results of the fix. Please post it.
     
  23. pop2012

    pop2012 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 35

    Here is the log.
     

    Attached Files:

  24. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 48,033   +271

    Can you post more info about those pop-us, like wording any names used, etc.
    Which browser is affected?
     
  25. pop2012

    pop2012 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 35

    I have only seen them on Internet Explorer.

    They say things like "500 - Internal Server Error. The recource you are looking for cannot be displayed."

    The URL's are long such as "http://pda.mv.bidsystem.com/bin/findwhat.dll?clickthrough&y=55685&x=cT6IA;3gsF1t;q8Dxv:Ga23XuX1ihl:n7NYbt5ZSOAAuXNYNrNZ:HL1W10EcjXaXvHK;F:OJc4YI9YFHbK:kcFO6dFpfsHFv8UdxS;6kyXY6z26h70qoE;GOkaGdmCu5EFyetA6jE4azhAtLc51cNaqes4pS2L3PAHVaFWKf2vY9Oqgnb28wjvYl1q6IX5e38w:E7AATa3Pjj43Vd2EFErr$D"

    One popup was a blank screen that loaded a page and then, before the page would show it would change the URL and load another page. It did this many times, never actually bringing up a website.

    Others are just warnings of a virus or malware infection, they show scans running as if it were a virus scan, but they obviously are not real.
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.