74GB Rapture SATA to go with my K8N-E and AMD 64 3400- Can't Install XP

Status
Not open for further replies.
74GB Rapture SATA with my K8N-E and AMD 64 3400- Can't Install XP

I just bought a Rapture SATA 74GB to go with my K8N-E and AMD 64 3400 but cannot get the OS to install.

I have been using the Mobo for a couple months with 2 80 GB SATA drives in a RAID 0 Config without a hitch. Now I want to do a clean install of the OS on the Rapture but have been unsuccessful. Also I have tried to image the drive using Ghost and the WD tools with no success. When using Ghost I always get a ‘Divide Overflow’ error when imaging the drive. When I use the WD tools, it appeared to work but then when I rebooted it just hangs on a black screen with a blinking Cursor.

When I try to do a clean install the system hangs after the files are copied and XP reboots the PC during the Process.
I have updated the Bios, but no luck.
I did not load the drivers for the SATA during the INSTALL F6 drive because I could not find them. My bad. I searched online on ASUS’s and WD’s sight with NO LUCK!

Any ideas? Thanks for any and all help.

ASUS K8N-E DELUXE
ATI AIW 9800 PRO
AMD 64 3400
WD Rapture SATA 74GB
2 80 gig SATA drives in a RAID 0
NEC-3500
XP PRO

This is always the case when installing a raptor drive.
First off you need to get the Western Digital Drivers.
http://www.wdc.com
then you have to place them on a disk. (only for window xp)
then you have to go to your motherboard disk, and then find the serial ata drivers, and load the ones necessary to run from dos.
when you boot up from the cd, press f6 and then it'll ask you for your floppt disk. insert your disk for the motherboard first, then after it installs, add another file, and then load the disk for your raptor. then continue on with the setup.
*remember, not to have the floppy disk in the drive till you need it.) this will cause problems.

hope this helps!

"from a person's perspective"