Building My First Computer- Advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.

algoespanol

Hi guys, this is my first time building a computer completely from scratch so please bear with me if I get confuzed. I'm a student so I want a fast gaming computer that also has adequate storage and room for other applications. Here's what I'm planning on using so far:
(Motherboard) Abit NF-M2
(CPU) AMD Athlon 64X2 3800
(Video Card) GeForce 7900GT
(Memory) DDR2-667 4GB (4 1GB modlues)
(Hard Drive) Seagate 320 GB SATA-300
(DVD/CD Drive) Lite-on 20x DVD Drive-Lightscribe
(Power supply) Thermoltake 750W PSU

I think that all of these components should fit together correctly. I am having trouble deciding on a case, so any opinions or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I don't think I really need a sound card as sound quality really isn't that important to me. I also would like a floppy drive but it isn't a must. Please tell me if you see anything that won't fit together correctly as I do not want to buy parts that aren't compatable. I was planning on getting some of the parts off of eBay/Amazon and some I'll probably buy new. Thanks in advance for the help.

Everything looks in place for the most part. Dont forget your operating system of course. Just make sure you have at least one intake fan and one outtake fan in your case. The more fans the better imo, and just about everyone here would tell you the same thing.

Operating System

Could you explain an operating system please? I'm a little confuzed by this. Would this be Windows XP? And, how do I introduce the operating system to the hardware? Does it come on a disk that just has to be "installed" when the comp is booted up for the first time?

An operating system is windows xp, windows vista ect..