Building my very first gaming rig

Status
Not open for further replies.
hi i just want some feedback on what you guys think of my gaming rig that i am going to build soon. This is the very first time i am building a gaming rig so i am new to all of this stuff and help would be greatly appreciated. here is what i plan on buying:

motherboard:
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/searchtools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=3940040

video card:
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/searchtools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=4037096

cpu:
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/searchtools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=3826349

case + psu (combo):
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/searchtools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=4252496

optical drive:
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=3986421&CatId=89

hard drive:
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=3255389&CatId=139

OS: Windows vista 64 bit ( heard of many problems though)

I have not decided what cpu cooler i am going to use and i also am not sure how many 120mm/80mm fans to buy. I am going to use my 512 mb kingston ram (x2) and my 1g Kingston ram (x1) from my old pc. hopefully im not missing anything! thanks!

Holy cow! Nice setup! The one and only suggestion I would make to you is a hard drive with more space. Seagate Barracuda is my favorite. If you can find a 500GB or 750GB, I would go for that. Or...a couple of 500GB drives.

That's a very expensive gaming PC. I'd recommend these parts instead. They're cheaper but just as high-quality as the ones you've picked:

The motherboard supports Crossfire and is an excellent overclocker, and you don't really need to pay the extra cash for the Deluxe version. The E8400 is a better buy than the E8500 due to the E8500 being more expensive for a very marginal increase in frequency. The PSU is better than the Ultra PSU in the case + PSU combo you picked and the case is decent, with a nice number of fans.