Business is *BOOMING*!!

almcneil

Techies,

Just as I was advised, business is now *BOOMING*!! I'm so busy, I can hardly keep up with the calls!!

Quick background for those who don't know my story. I used to be a high tech engineer. The collapsed in 2001 and by mid-2003 I got laid off from full time work. I went the next 3.5 years mostly unemployed/under-employed with just 2 short 3-month contracts. I finally gave up last January trying to get full employed in tech as an engineer. One of my under-employed jobs during that 3.5 year period was as a tech support agent for Dell at one of their call centres. I decided to startup my own self-employed business servicing a large suburb.

I was advised by a colleague who ran an independent computer store in the same neighbourhood that it the market goes dead during the summer then gets real busy in September. He was exactly right! My business started last April and was slow at first. By June I started to average a call per day. Then late June through mid-August, I was only averaging 3 calls per week and felt very discouraged. Then the last week of August, it started to rebound. This past week, I've been booked *SOLID*!!

Now, in addition to the "back from summer vacation" reason, there is another reason I'm making a lot of business. I changed my strategy when do get an in-home call. Initially, I would do "extra" work at no charge to impress the customer in hopes they would refer me to their friends and neighbours. Yes, I did get some referrals but not a lot. So, now what I do is once I solve their primary problem I point out other items I could do for them but that it would be an additional charge. Half the time, they agree to it on the spot and I get what I call a "double". If not, they usually call me back later and say they do want me to come back for the additional call. It's making a big difference!!

Anyone else who's running the same or comparable business and wants to learn how to make more money, message me!!