Cant Connect Two Computers

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ok i have searched other fourms but it seems i cant find answers.

when i try to make a new "connection" i go to "control panel > network connectons>new connection>next>set up advanced connection>next my computer freezes for about a min or two and i get this error

"incoming connections depend on the routing and remote access service which was unable to start"

anyone have any ideas how to fix this or why this would say this? this is my first time trying to connect two computers.. I have my xbox 360 and this computer networking so that i can watch movies on my 360 that are on my computer, would this cause this problem?

i am running XP home SP2

Start - Run:
SERVICES.MSC
ok

Maximize the Services Window
Scroll down to Routing and Remote Access
Double click on it
Change the Startup type from "Disabled" to "Automatic"
Click on Apply
Click on Start (within that box)
Close (X) the Services Window

Go back to setting up your network
I use Start-Run - NETSETUP

I have a question : Do i gotta have both computers running and connected with eachother and run all this stuff at the same time?

also when i right click and press START on the Routing and Remote Access i get this error

"windows could not start the routing and remote access on local computer. For more info, review the system event log if this is a non Microsoft service, contact the service vendor, and refer to service-specific error code 340.

if you ask me to show u what my system event log says, i dont know how to check it.

It's also dependant on
RPC, Remote Procedure Call.
and Netbios

to be Started in Services

I'd also Start Telephony

Please go back to SERVICES.MSC

And start all 3 of the above
Then try to start Routing and Remote Access again

Ok so that worked thanks a billion.. i got one more question, to connect two computers .. can i use the Ethernet ports? or a usb cable with each ending have a usb connections?