Cleaned processor, now got power, but screens blank

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a dell, pentium 4 HT 2.8ghz. I just added another 512 of ram yesterday and everything was running fine. Today, I decided to clean the processor area because a friend recommended it. He came over and we removed the processor which was attached to the heat sink pretty good and cleaned it. My friend tried to put the processor back in while being attached to the heatsink. He tried to turn it on and there was no power. Needless to say, a few pins got bent. I straightened the pins up and put the processor in the proper way then clamped it down and put the heat sink back on. Now we have power and all the fans run but nothing shows up on the monitor. Any ideas?

Here a couple of side notes:

1: I've never done this before and regret letting my friend show me.
2: The power plug was still in when he removed the processor the second time to check the pins, he checked, bent them back into shape, put the processor back in and the power plug was still plugged in the whole time. This was the first time the fans were working but nothing on the screen.
3: he left, I took the processor back out, checked some pins, straightened a bit, put back in and still the same thing. I made sure to unplug the power cord this time.

If the processor is broken, can I just buy another identical processor off the web and replace it?

Well that sucks. Bending pins may have killed the processor, but before you do anything, check to make sure that while you were pushing down to get the heatsink installed you didn't unseat something a little like the video card - I've had that happen to me before. Next take out that new RAM you put in and try with just what you had in there before. Make sure those are properly seated.

Google for how to reset the CMOS on your computer and do that.