CMOS checksum bad

Status
Not open for further replies.

wee1man

hi guys , ive just had an old computer givin to me , its 64 mb ram , was running 98 windows , ive upgraded to xp pro run ok booted up, now when i upgraded the ram to 128mb 2x64mb, ive restarted the computer and the first message i got from boot up was ( checking NV ram) and then it said (Cmos battery low ) so i tried to reboot and then at the same place it now comes up (cmos checksum error and will not boot past this point , im kinda new to this sorry hope you can understand and help , any ideas ? pleaseee help me someone

ive just changed the battery from the same model and still remains the same

ok its the same model battery

You probably need a new CMOS battery.

ok ive been to DSE and purchaesd a brand new battery and installed it but still the same prob its saying bad battery !

Oh well must be too much for you people to, is there any better techspots where they deal with older systems ?

Hi i have just put a second stick of ram into my old computer , basically 2 x 64 mb its a old computer now when i try to reboot it comes up checksum bad error , i have replaced the cmos battery , and cant get past the error , would putting pc 133 64 mb ram stick into a pc 100 ram slot matter , both are sdram, it also beeps at start up

When you get bad checksum, it should also offer a key to press to get into the bios. At that point you can set anything you want in the bios, and save it. After that, the machine will boot normally - as long as the bios settings are correct, and that is where your problems begin.

Clearly, getting beep codes is a problem. You need to go to the motherboard manufacturers website, find the model of motherboard you have, get the instruction book for it, and find out what the beep codes mean.