Computer Shuts down randomly, fans still running

Status
Not open for further replies.
Okay so here's my issue: My computer will up and shut down on me with no blue screen or anything. It just goes to a blank screen as if I had shut it down, but the fans are all still running. I also noticed that after a hard shut down my led indicator was still on and I could not restart the computer without unplugging it from my power strip, letting the light die out, and then plugging it back in. Please help, I'm at a loss.

P.S. I have some computer experience

Comp Specs:
Mainboard : ECS K8T890-A
Chipset : VIA K8T890
Processor : AMD Athlon 64 3800+ @ 2400 MHz
Physical Memory : 1024 MB (2 x 512 DDR-SDRAM )
Video Card : NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT
Operating System : Microsoft Windows XP Professional 5.01.2600 Service Pack 3

Sorry forgot to mention that it repeats this even after successful reboot. I have taken the side of the case off and have had a no problems yet. Hope this helps.

are you working on it it when it does this? or does it do this while idling?, in other words what is the last thing you are dong when it happens? and any system beeps?

it could be a lot of things. but you need to start eliminating possible problems by testing the hdd, ram and motherboard. an optical drive is a moving part and is also likely to fail, but not likely the cause of your problem (in my experience). hopefully you have another computer or other spare parts to do these tests. if not you can do simple tests like try to boot from a linux or dos boot CD and that can help you eliminate a number of possibilities. the UBCD4WIN has some utilities you can use to diagnose problems on a machine. you can also add your own utilities to maximize productivity.

red1776,
Most times it is when I am on it, just cruising the internet, but others it will be right after a long idle.

SAVAGExCHAOS,