Computer will not post

Status
Not open for further replies.

kingross

Well I just bought a new computer. When I went to put the thing together the computer would not post. (I am new to all of this because Ive used macs for a very very long time, but i did have some friends if mine help me out.) We tried disconecting the dvd and hard drives and that didnt help. We screwed around with the jumper settings and that didnt help. We figured that the mother board must have been bad so I sent that back to newegg and i am still waiting on it. I tried as a stopgap between now and then to hook up my friends old stuff that he knew worked. I swapped out the motherboard, processor and power supply (i know that the RAM is good because we tested it out on my friends computer). It still will not post. Does anyone have any idea what i should do???? This is driving me insane. I keep kicking myself in the *** for not buying a new mac but i was just so fed up with not being able to run anything on them and now this new computer wont even run. Please tell me one of you has the answer to my problems. I am dying without a computer.

Sorry, the specs are:
Athlon 64 X2 3800+
Abit KN8 Ultra
Corsair XMS 2GB (2x 1GB) Twinx2048-3200c2pt
Antec Truepower 550 II
evga 7900GT
Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD3200KS
COOLER MASTER Wave Master TAC-T01

everything else was disconnected so I won't list them

the old stuff I borrowed is
Athlon XP 2500+
ATI AIW 7500
ASUS A7N8X-Deluxe
generic 400w power supply

any help would be appreciated

If you know the parts you just put in work then the first thing to do would be to check and make sure there is no metal contacting the Mobo and causing a short. when you install the mobo you did use the standoffs didnt you?