Do I need Ati drivers if I have Nvidia video card?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm still learning.....

When I log on computer, screen shows "The ATI control panel
failed to initialize because no ATI driver is installed, or ATI driver is not working properly. The ATI control panel will now exit".

I know that has been discussed here, but this is my question: Isn't ATI a video card? I have Nvidea GeForce FX5500 in my system (XP, 1 G Ram)) yet this error message always appears. When I pull up display adaptors in device mgr, my Nvidea shows, nothing for ATI does.

So, do I need both? I just updated drivers on my video card and direct x due to a game freezing. That didn't help. Then I remembered this error message and wondered if it had something to do with it.

Thanks alot for any help.
Modmomm

You don't need ATI drivers-they are for AMD/ATI graphics cards- uninstall them.
Use Driver Sweeper here:
http://downloads.guru3d.com/Guru3D---Driver-Sweeper-(Setup)-download-1655.html
in preference to "Add and Remove Programs" in the control panel. I would uninstall both the ATI and nVidia drivers and re-install the applicable nVidia driver to ensure you get an uncorrupted install.
The DirectX update should be fine.

You should only have the graphics driver from your graphics card vendor ( the manufacturer) i.e. Gigabyte, MSI, XFX, EVGA etc. If the card is an OEM product then download from here http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us

FX5xxx branded cards (not OEM) may not run with the nVidia Forceware drivers so make sure you use the manufacturers recommended download if available.

If I don't need the ATI, why do I get the error message? Also, I just updated the Nvidia drivers today. Wouldn't I have the latest? And lastly, I do not know what the diff is in Forceware driver or? Please keep in mind, I have absolutely no knowledge of this topic :(

P.S. What does Driver Sweeper do?

Thank you so much for your reply.