Do I Need new Wireless Router??

Status
Not open for further replies.

rmdl51

Hello everybody, First I would like to tell you that I'm not a pro on networking, I do have plenty of knowledge about single pc units but my weakness is networks, however I do try to improve about this.

Well that being said, I'm having a lot of problems with my router which is a Linksys WRT54G, I think is somewhat old but I don't know if being old is the cause it won't hold on on my current wireless needs.

I have a Nintendo Wii, a PS3, a DS, a PSP, 2 Laptops, Wi-fi printer (Lexmark x4530) a Wireless PC and my Main PC which is wired. the problem is sometimes while playing online games on any of my consoles I get kicked out saying network problems, sometimes I have the whole network down and I don't even have internet on the wired PC and I have to go to my router settings and restore everything to the default settings and then recreate the WEP password and all that stuff.

Big questions here: do I have too many wireless stuff for this router? is there a way to know if the router is malfunctioning, should I configure something to make it faster or better yet to prevent connection kickouts, I was thinking seriously on upgrading to a router which handles at least 108Mbps but I'm not sure if that will help and I might only have a bad setup, maybe I was thinking on the new 802.11n but still too expensive.

Thanks for your advice!

Already update firmware, still the same problem.

True, I was reading some reviews for even newer models and a lot of people have problems with range or speed, but I rather ask here before make a move.

If I replace the router which one would you suggest?

belkin.com

But you may wish to wait for other responses, as I am not an authority in sales as such. (my area is service)

For extra range, get a MIMO class router (RF Multiple In - Multiple out) but
DO NOT GO with 802.11n! The N protocol is not yet a standard and likely to change.