Engineer - Want to switch to Mac

Status
Not open for further replies.

geoffd86

So it's time for a new computer and I am thinking about switching to Mac (Macbook Pro specifically) because of it's stability, and because I have had trouble with Windows in the past. I also want to use garageband and other recording software and hardware that works much better on Mac.

The problem is that I'm an engineer and the applications I need are mostly windows based. I want to bootcamp and run solidworks, but I do not know if the system is capable of handling large assemblies. A friend has a macbook pro and uses vmfusion but that doesn't work very well (crashes). Any advice?

Am I crazy to switch to mac when I'm an engineer?

You probably won't get too much love for Macs here, I think I'm one of about 4 people on the site that regularly use both.

It (the MBP) won't have the power of a desktop, but it should be pretty close to anything in its price range on the Windows end for a laptop. I wouldn't strongly consider running Windows in a VM unless you are doing fairly basic stuff with Solidworks. You'll be much better off using bootcamp (dual booting) to have a naitive Windows environment, simply for the unhampered processor speed and RAM.

I don't think you are crazy to switch, because switching gives you the option to run all the cool things a Mac has to offer, while still letting you run Windows natively for softwares that don't support Macs.

Thanks. That was pretty much my opinion also.

What about operating system and office, stuff like that?

I have XP and office 2003, which i would like to leave on my old computer, so i can't use the XP OS on the new computer.

I was thinking of getting Windows 7 (running 64 bit) and using my current office 2003 on the windows side. I looked it up and i can use the same key for up to two computers.

I think that I would end up running most of my programs on the windows side, just so that I wouldn't need to reboot all the time.