Error: F:\is not accessable. Incorrect function and other problems

Status
Not open for further replies.

Clobbohead

I've searched around these forums for awhile but can't find a direct answer to my problem. I'm a newbie to this forum, so please understand if I'm posting in the wrong forum, etc. Thanks.

I get the above error code in either my DVD drive (E) or my external CD drive (F). It's driving me bonkers! I use Roxio Media Creator 9 drag to disc a lot, or at least I used to! Previously I could drag or 'send' any picture or music file to either drive.

When I go to properties and click 'enable recording' and 'apply', I still get the same message. Then I return to properties and the boxes are unchecked!

I've reinstalled Roxio a few times, but the problem continues. I'm using the same media (Verbatim CD-R) I've been using for years.

At one point I installed Nero, then uninstalled it. I hate my Roxio 9 software, it's a pain to use, but it gets the job done. The Roxio website is pretty useless.

I have a HP a1210n PC with Windows XP SP2. 1 gig of memory, and a 200g hard drive.

I'm pretty ignorant of computers, too! Don't savvy a lot of technical terms. I just use my pc for photos and editing music/recorded files and to surf and email.

Anyway, I appreciate any suggestions you may have for my problem.

Thanks,
Rick in Florida

Usually means the CD disc itself is either:
used and closed (ie you can't write to it any more)
not formatted (rewritables require you to format then burn)
not the right format (the writer doesn't support this disc)

Download and run this http://www.dvdinfopro.com/
and confirm what your writer can write

look for new aspi drivers try adaptic
you may need to re-install controller drivers for the motherboard
these control the ide and sata ports that our drives are on /plus other things
a search here will find many posts on subject

Thanks, but no thanks, Sam

Samstoned said:
look for new aspi drivers try adaptic