Expanding the /home on AIX

Status
Not open for further replies.

jwr_1986

Good Morning All,

We have an AIX server that is used as our e-mail server (Squirell Mail). The /home directory is filling up quite rapidly. We cleaned it out once a few months back by getting rid of a lot of e-mail that were obviously just old. That dropped it down to 60% used or so. Now it has krept back up to 99%. I'm told that there is a way to tell how much each directory has been allocated and whether there is any room to expand. Basically I need to know how to check this and then If there is room to be expanded into how I resize the /home directory into that space. Thank you all for your help. As you can tell I am a unix beginner at best. Thanks again.

Jesse

Well, for disk usage there's du command (-g, -k or -m parameters make the sizes easier to understand). lsfs should list the filesystems and give some general information about them.

Resizing /home depends on the filesystem used. I found this as one example for AIX.

However, I've never used AIX myself, so I don't know much about the details.

AIX does not allocate space per directory -- no *nix systems do -- they mount
a partition (or filesystem) at a mount point.

the prior comment re DU is correct --
it will show the capacity and the free block count(FBC). FBC x block size = free space(bytes).

the normal means to 'expand' is to:
  1. delete the junk first
  2. dismount the partition
  3. backup the device
  4. create a NEW partition of a larger size
  5. restore the recent backup onto it
  6. mount the NEW partition

btw: /home is the location for user's home directories

it is bad practice to have system services on this filesystem;
services get impacted by users and conversely!

I would guess it is the users' mailboxes that are in /home, not the actual mail server software or spool.