Explosion !1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Condor

Hi techspot Vets, My NEC 16X DVDRW Blk OEM was working flawlessly until today, when I put in a rented Vcd; it exploded(heard a pop! sound)after 15 sec. Now the dvd drive couldn't read or write, the dvd case door won't open or shut completely & 80% of the Vcd disk pieces are still inside. I love this drive very much, i have been using it for 3-4 months now. I wonder what I did wrong to made the Cd to shatter?

Thanks

he dvd case door won't open or shut completely & 80% of the Vcd disk pieces are still inside.

That's possibly the reason it won't open or close - the pieces of vcd are jamming it. What you did to make that happen though is anybodies guess as far as I know. did you put it in upside down or something? I can't think of anything that would make a cd shatter like that other than heat, but even then it would take an awful lot.

I insert the disk in while the white area (shinning part) are facing down and the CD label was facing up. =/

Sounds to me like the disk was faulty. The modern drives spin that fast, there`s quite a lot of centrifugal force exerted on the disk. All it needs is a slight crack or flaw in the disk and bang. This is not the first time I`ve heard of a disk exploding in a drive.

Whether your drive will have sustained any permanent damage from this, is anyones guess.

Regards Howard :)

AH, That's happened to me once too now that you've mentioned it, as a child. I didn't consider the possibility of a damaged disk, possibly because I always check the disk before using it out of instinct and reflex these days. You're probably right Howard.

The problem is now, even without permenant damage, it can be quite difficult to get inside the drive to take the pieces out without causing damage to either the drive or the casing yourself anyway. Especially if you haven't done it before.