First build: Computer shutting off while installing XP

Status
Not open for further replies.
problem: i just built this new computer and when i try to install windows xp i get to the screen that says it will take about 39 minutes to install and then after about 5 minutes the computer will just turn off.

hardware: intel core 2 quad q6600, abit ip35 pro, crucial ballistix 2gb ddr2 800, corsair hx520w psu, seagate 500gb 16mb sata, xfx geforce 8600gt 256mb 128-bit gddr3, samsung 20x dvd burner sata, cooler master cosmos 1000

this is my first build, and i have barely any experience with (internal) computer hardware.

i got the computer to run and i can access the BIOS. i set the voltage to 2.2 for the ram because it didn't do automatically. i also set the timings on the ram. i only did this because read that people were doing this with the abit ip35 in some reviews.

i've tried just using one stick of ram at a time to load up. i've tried two different xp discs. and i've tried two different brand new hard drives (same kind).

i really hope someone can help me pinpoint my problem. i would really appreciate it. i'll take any advice though, since i really don't know what i'm doing, i'm just learning as i do this. thanks!

thanks for the advice, i'm having trouble booting from cd now. every time i turn on the computer it tries to resume installing xp and it asks me to put the cd back in.

i want to try this Memtest and maybe to boot vista but i'm not sure how to force my comp to boot to cd.

Load bios setup defaults

Should make boot order floppy /CD / HDD

You may also wish to try turning off USB support in bios, to load Windows Xp
(is it Xp or Vista now ?)
Sometimes the USB, component stops Windows install, like this.

I'm still concerned about the ram adjusting, and why it didn't just work - automatically.
By chance have you any other ram to try, instead of the ones presently fitted.