First time site user here, would appreciate some help on a Windows 7 BSOD

Status
Not open for further replies.

Orogenesis

Greetings,

Just recently I got my ASUS laptop back from repair (for a variety of hardware reasons, they replaced GPU, motherboard, and 1 hard drive), and decided to install Windows 7 on it. It performs great and I love the new features, it really is what Vista should have been.
I am still learning the ins and outs of it and it's very refreshing.

Well about 2 hours ago I was just watching a movie when all of a sudden it hanged and I received the dreaded BSOD.
Didn't mind this at first, since it gave me the opportunity to explore 7's event viewer.
After realizing it still sucks I threw it into Windows debugger and came up with this:
(shortened version)

Loading Dump File [C:\Windows\Minidump\020810-21808-01.dmp]
Mini Kernel Dump File: Only registers and stack trace are available

Symbol search path is: *** Invalid ***
* Symbol loading may be unreliable without a symbol search path. *
* Use .symfix to have the debugger choose a symbol path. *
* After setting your symbol path, use .reload to refresh symbol locations. *
Executable search path is:
* Symbols can not be loaded because symbol path is not initialized. *
* The Symbol Path can be set by: *
* using the _NT_SYMBOL_PATH environment variable. *
* using the -y <symbol_path> argument when starting the debugger. *
* using .sympath and .sympath+ *
Unable to load image \SystemRoot\system32\ntoskrnl.exe, Win32 error 0n2
*** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for ntoskrnl.exe
*** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for ntoskrnl.exe
Windows 7 Kernel Version 7600 MP (2 procs) Free x64
Product: WinNt, suite: TerminalServer SingleUserTS
Built by: 7600.16385.amd64fre.win7_rtm.090713-1255
Machine Name:
Kernel base = 0xfffff800`02a62000 PsLoadedModuleList = 0xfffff800`02c9fe50
Debug session time: Mon Feb 8 04:27:46.833 2010 (GMT-8)
System Uptime: 1 days 5:26:27.327