Heatsink retaining bracket removal/replacement

Status
Not open for further replies.

mdexter2

Hello all...

I have a D865PERL mobo and a P4 3.0E CPU (socket 478). I am looking to replace the stock heatsink/fan but I need to know if the *retaining bracket* for the heatsink is removable/replaceable *without* removing the mobo. I am looking to install a *Thermalright XP-90* along with a *Panaflo 92mm Fan High Speed (FBA09A12H-A)* that should work with the current retaining bracket. I figure if the retaining bracket is replaceable *without* removing the mobo, I will go ahead and order a metal version of the retaining bracket to replace the current plastic one. But if it's not replaceable without removing the mobo I will have to pass because I am not experienced enough to be messing with removing a mobo.

Thanks in advance for any help/insight anyone can offer. BTW, my system was built by a friend but I am unable to contact him at the moment. And researching this online and at Intel's web site etc., has been unsuccessful.

hi mdexter2,

I went on Intel's website to find some pics of that motherboard. they have a nice page on the D865PERL that lets you view the board from all angles. going by the pics i saw, you should be able to remove the bracket without removing the motherboard. it appears that it uses plastic pins & anchors to hold the bracket to the motherboard. (make sure there are no screws holding it as well)

1. the little white pins (they look like white circles from above) in each corner will need to be pulled (or pried) out.

2. once you have all four white pins removed, you can pull the bracket right off the motherboard. it will take a small amount of force to compress the anchors as you pull up on the bracket.

that's it!