How can I resolve this Vista x64 BSOD - IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL - ntoskrnl.exe

Phantom552

Posts: 7   +0
A quick overview of the most recent dump:

Mini102910-02.dmp 10/29/2010 8:42:32 PM

IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL 0x0000000a 00000000`000000a0 00000000`0000000c 00000000`00000001 fffff800`036c2996 ntoskrnl.exe ntoskrnl.exe+553d0 x64

System Specs:
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium x64 (SP1)
Processor: Intel Core i7 (920@2.67ghz)
Memory: 6gb (2046 x 3) Corsair Dominator
Display Adapter: ATI Radion HD 4870x2

Ok, so I started getting this problem recently, & ran through a lot of my own troubleshooting steps. So far nothing seems to be proving more than a temporary fix.

I ran a memtest overnight, got no errors back on my RAM at all. Scanned for viruses, got one or two minor adware programs which I removed. Still experienced BSOD, Did a system restore, and the problem still persists.

Anyone know of a fix for this issue? Here's some additional info if it will help:
 

Attachments

Route44

Posts: 12,015   +81
That error code and the other codes in your jpg attachments means you are looking at driver issues.

A significant number are 0x0000009F: DRIVER_POWER_STATE_FAILURE
A driver is in an inconsistent or invalid power state. Typically occurs during events that involve power state transitions, such as shutting down, or moving into or out of standby or hibernate mode.


How to find and post your Minidump Files:

My Computer > C Drive > Windows Folder > Minidump Folder > Minidump Files.

It is these files that we need (not the folder). Attach to your next post the five most recent dumps. Notice the Manage Attachments button at the bottom when you go to post the next time. You can Zip up to five files per Zip; if you only have one or two you don’t need to zip them, just attach as is. Please do us a favor and don’t Zip each one individually
 

Phantom552

Posts: 7   +0
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #3
Minidumps

OK, heres the last 5 minidumps, though beware of the first one (most recent) haven't checked it yet, but I think it has nothing to do with the issue I'm inquiring about.
 

Attachments

Jonathan King

Posts: 125   +0
Start by removing Daemon Tools, or whatever similar program you may be using. It uses SPTD, a driver notorious for causing BSODs.

When done, remove SPTD with this tool: http://www.duplexsecure.com/download/SPTDinst-v174-x64.exe

Also, install some updated ATI drivers from here: http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloads/Pages/radeon_win7-64.aspx

You'll want Individual Downloads > Display driver only.

If the BSODs persist, enable driver verifier: http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/101379-driver-verifier-enable-disable.html

Wait for a few more BSODs, then upload a full BSOD report. Follow these directions: http://www.jcgriff2.com/BSODpostinstructions.html

Zip up the output folder, and upload it to Rapidshare.

Summary of the dumps

Code:
[font=lucida console]
Built by: 6001.18488.amd64fre.vistasp1_gdr.100608-0458
Debug session time: Wed Nov  3 06:25:36.328 2010 (UTC - 4:00)
System Uptime: 0 days 0:05:08.073
Probably caused by : ntkrnlmp.exe ( nt!RtlImageNtHeaderEx+38 )
BUGCHECK_STR:  0x1E_c0000005
DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT
PROCESS_NAME:  chrome.exe
FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x1E_c0000005_nt!RtlImageNtHeaderEx+38
¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨``
Built by: 6001.18488.amd64fre.vistasp1_gdr.100608-0458
Debug session time: Wed Nov  3 06:17:49.708 2010 (UTC - 4:00)
System Uptime: 0 days 0:03:11.485
Probably caused by : ntkrnlmp.exe ( nt!KeStackAttachProcess+86 )
DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT
BUGCHECK_STR:  0xA
PROCESS_NAME:  System
FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0xA_nt!KeStackAttachProcess+86
¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨``
Built by: 6001.18488.amd64fre.vistasp1_gdr.100608-0458
Debug session time: Wed Nov  3 06:12:33.510 2010 (UTC - 4:00)
System Uptime: 0 days 0:03:52.254
Probably caused by : ntkrnlmp.exe ( nt!KeSetEvent+133 )
DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT
BUGCHECK_STR:  0xA
PROCESS_NAME:  System
FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0xA_nt!KeSetEvent+133
¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨``
Built by: 6001.18488.amd64fre.vistasp1_gdr.100608-0458
Debug session time: Tue Nov  2 16:45:08.698 2010 (UTC - 4:00)
System Uptime: 0 days 0:03:43.450
Probably caused by : ntkrnlmp.exe ( nt!ObpCreateUnnamedHandle+122 )
BUGCHECK_STR:  0x1E_c0000005
DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT
PROCESS_NAME:  verclsid.exe
FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x1E_c0000005_nt!ObpCreateUnnamedHandle+122
¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨``
Built by: 6001.18488.amd64fre.vistasp1_gdr.100608-0458
Debug session time: Sat Oct 30 02:50:03.993 2010 (UTC - 4:00)
System Uptime: 0 days 0:03:46.727
Probably caused by : ntkrnlmp.exe ( nt!KeStackAttachProcess+86 )
DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  COMMON_SYSTEM_FAULT
BUGCHECK_STR:  0xA
PROCESS_NAME:  System
FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0xA_nt!KeStackAttachProcess+86
¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨``
  
[/font]
 

Phantom552

Posts: 7   +0
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #5
Trying to update ATI HD4870x2 Driver now, alas, it seems I have hit a wall. I can only boot straight to Windows for 10-30 seconds at a time, so I am stuck working in Safe Mode and in order to install the updated ATI Display Driver, I need to install Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable Package, which requires the MS Service Windows Installer, which can't be started in Safe Mode.... Anyone know a workaround for this?
 

Jonathan King

Posts: 125   +0
Sure, install the driver manually. While in Safe Mode, open Device Manager (devmgmt.msc into the start menu), and right-click on your display adapter.

Select Update driver software, and tell it "Browse my computer..." Point it to C:\ATI\Support\10-10_vista64_win7_64_dd.
 

Phantom552

Posts: 7   +0
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #7
Many thanks so far everybody.

Looks like after completely uninstalling my ATI drivers, and installing the new ones, and removing DaemonTools and its buggy little driver, my system is a little more stable. However, I still do get a Blue Screen here & there on startup or shutdown.


A problem has been detected and Windows has been shut down to prevent damage
to your computer.

The problem seems to be caused by the following file: ntoskrnl.exe

KMODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED

If this is the first time you've seen this stop error screen,
restart your computer. If this screen appears again, follow
these steps:

Check to make sure any new hardware or software is properly installed.
If this is a new installation, ask your hardware or software manufacturer
for any Windows updates you might need.

If problems continue, disable or remove any newly installed hardware
or software. Disable BIOS memory options such as caching or shadowing.
If you need to use safe mode to remove or disable components, restart
your computer, press F8 to select Advanced Startup Options, and then
select Safe Mode.

Technical Information:

*** STOP: 0x0000001e (0xffffffffc0000005, 0xfffff80003d334b2, 0x0000000000000001,
0x0000000000000018)

*** ntoskrnl.exe - Address 0xfffff80003aa53d0 base at 0xfffff80003a50000 DateStamp
0x4c0e5892
Any idea what this means? Ill post another set of minidumps if it shows up a few more times.
 

Phantom552

Posts: 7   +0
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #10
BSOD Report

Heres the BSOD Report, still waiting on the perfmon /report, as my computer doesnt seem to want to run the file.... All I get back is:

An Error occurred while attempting to generate the report

System Cannot Find Path Specified

Edit
Ok, turns out the file is waaay too big to upload directly...

Download BSOD Dump
 

Jonathan King

Posts: 125   +0
I'll just say what I see in the dumps. They blame nothing of interest, so it's just guesswork. I see some old drivers, which may or may not be causing it, so if you want, you can start to update them.
Code:
mv64xx.sys          Fri Aug 01 06:49:16 2008 (4892EA2C) -- Marvell 64xx/63xx SAS Controller
yk60x64.sys         Mon Oct 02 03:21:56 2006 (4520BE14) -- Marvell Yukon Ethernet Controller -- http://extranet.marvell.com/drivers/driverDisplay.do?driverId=101
dadder.sys          Thu Aug 02 05:33:03 2007 (46B1A4CF) -- Razer Death Adder -- http://www.razersupport.com/index.php?_m=downloads&_a=view
I could not find any drivers for your Marvell SAS controller. What is the model of your computer?

English instructions for installing the Yukon drivers can be found in the yk60x86_0409.htm file.

In addition to those old drivers, I recommend that you remove PC Tools, at least for the time being.

After you complete those steps, enable driver verifier.

Wait for a few BSODs, and then upload the new dump files.

Summary of the dumps
Code:
Built by: 6001.18488.amd64fre.vistasp1_gdr.100608-0458
Debug session time: Wed Nov 10 05:24:05.083 2010 (UTC - 5:00)
System Uptime: 0 days 0:03:43.809
Probably caused by : ntkrnlmp.exe ( nt!KeStackAttachProcess+86 )
DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT
BUGCHECK_STR:  0xA
PROCESS_NAME:  System
FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0xA_nt!KeStackAttachProcess+86
¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨``
Debug session time: Wed Nov 10 05:18:16.930 2010 (UTC - 5:00)
System Uptime: 4 days 11:47:19.626
Probably caused by : Unknown_Image ( ANALYSIS_INCONCLUSIVE )
DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT
BUGCHECK_STR:  0xA
¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨``
 

Phantom552

Posts: 7   +0
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #12
Thanks

The system is a custom build, so in all technicality it doesn't have a manufacturer. However, Im in the process of updating just about every device driver just for good measure.

Hopefully that helps resolve the issue.