How To set up a LAN game for Command and Conquer?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello Guy's
Im new to this , forum. I was wondering if someone can help me to set up my two computers to play General "command and conquer" using LAN?

I got a Windows Xp Pro on both machine, one with SP2 and one with SP1,
with a PC Cillin virus program and the other one with Computer Associates virus program and firewall. To make more complicated i am sharing both computer using a SMC7004ABR.

Note: i have one license only for the command and conquer? do i require to buy another software to get started?
Any comments and suggestions?

Thank you
Jblaster

Hello, Welcome to Techspot, Jblaster,

I am no expert but did you try set the Network Configuration (Microsoft/NetBIOS/IPX/TCP-IP)?

Lucan

P.S. Forgive me, I am rookie on WIndows XP but I am veteran on Win 9x

:wave: Hello & Welcome to TechSpot :wave:

Which version of C&C are you thinking about?
The original? If so, you only need one license, just let one play as nod with the nod cd and one as gdi with the gdi cd.

To set up the network you have to use IPX/SPX which you have to either use through a crossed cable directly, or through a hub (I don't think a switch works).

There are other ways, but I'll wait until I know if we're talking about the same game :)

sorry, what do you mean by play as nod with the nod cd and one as gdi with the gdi cd? and i am using a router would this matter?

thanks again
jblaster

Command & Conquer LAN

I'm brand new to this, I found this site searching through Google. I'm trying to play Command & Conquer with my son. I have Windows 98 on my laptop and XP on my tower. My first problem is, I can select [LAN] on the tower. Windows XP seems to be blocking me. Any help?

Sorry for not replying sooner, but I have a lot of exams coming up and papers due so I don't have time to check the site as often as I'd like...

Jblaster said: