I just dont know what I can get with video cards

Status
Not open for further replies.

N8T1308

Ive been dying to upgrade my video card lately but i can't figure out which ones would be compatible with my motherboard and system. My price range is $200-250. These are my computer specs...

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4400+
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-M61PME-S2 (2nd Edition) (430 Chipset)
Memory: 2X2gb DDR2 800 1.8V (Crucial Brand)
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS (512 MB)
Operating system: Windows XP Home Edition 32-bit

Can someone help me out please? Im not a professional computer guy but I do know some so any information would help. Im really just looking for Video Card options...

N8T1308, i just replied to your other thread asking for advice on replacing your mobo.
Mate if you're now wanting to replace your gfx card, best to put it all in one thread stating excatly how many of your components you want to upgrade then we can help you better.

The PSU is the power supply. A good quality one of decent wattage is required to run more powerful gfx cards effectively.

You didn't say what you need the upgrade for. As for your PSU, it's usually located at the top of the case, towards the rear and there should be a sticker on it that looks somewhat like this:
sn41g2v2_psu_sticker.jpg

Post all the specs you find from your PSU, or a snapshot of it, if possible.

You need a new PSU. I'd recommend this one. As for the card itself, I recommend this one.

The PSU is of much better quality than your current one and is actually capable of running two HD 4870s if you wanted to. The card is, of course, a stellar performer and delivers overall better performance compared to its NVIDIA counterpart, the GTX 260. Also, if you want, perform this series of tweaks for increasing the card's fan speed, if you're worried it may run too hot.

650w is enough 'power', but its the ampage across voltage rails quality that's required to run a good setup.