I need help finding a good PC setup for a good price...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stefchu (PoLsKa

I honestly dont know much about all this PC hardware, I am a complete noob.

But I need to find a good setup that costs around 800-1200. The type of PC I'm looking for is one that is fast, has a decent hardrive that will last me a long time, and also a decent gaming setup to play games such as Battlefield: 2142. Good processor, good motherboard, well you know where I'm going with this.

Help would be appreciated, Thank you.

P.S. I'm more of an Nvidia person, so...I prefer Nvidia's graphics cards.

Check that link out -

http://www.barebonekit.net/

specifically look at the amd or intel kits. You can basically build your own computer to any price range you want. If that site isn't good enough just try searching for "barebones computer kits" on google.

The problem is, I don't know anything about customizing my own Desktop, and what parts are good for their prices and which ones are better than others, and so on. So it's basically these 2 choices I listed in my second post.

We can be more helpful if we know the intended purpose?
Are you a gamer, photo editer, graphics designer, database manager, on a network? What are the top five programs you would like to use. What are your security needs? Do you use 768 mg DSL, 12 GB cable, or a telephone modem?
There are 87 different brands and models of computers out there. They change significantly every four months.
Sometimes it is better to be a bit more conservative on the front end, but get a box and board that are more receptive to upgrades.
The relationships between cost and components are so very finely tuned, that there are no real deals. A low priced machine can have a higher failure rate.
Look for a very rugged motherboard, and CPU, then compromise where needed. Something 6 months old has more of the defects worked out than do the latest promotions.