memory and device driver problems

Status
Not open for further replies.
Good Day to you all

This is my first posting on your boards. Let me tell you straight away that I am no expert with computers.

I am using Windows XP professional SP2 with AMD Athlon XP 3000 Radeon 9250/9200 series. Installed memory 1024mb.

My problem is that the system boots up OK but at a random time shuts down, whether I am using the system or not. The reboot tells me that the system has recovered from a serious error, probably caused by a device driver. The other strange thing is that sometimes I have a 1024mb of memory showing and at other times only 512mb.

Today I unplugged all my USB leads before starting and lo & behold it showed the gig of memory, I then plugged in the mouse/keyboard (microsoft) and after a short while the system closed down. On reboot I only have 512mb memory showing.

Usually my system will run OK for the rest of the day after the initial shut down.

Earlier this week I took the tower into a local computer shop who informed me that after three days running and testing the start up installed programs that "there was absolutel nothin wrong with the system"

But as I have stated above it took only 1 day for all to go awry again!

Thanks for any help that you may be able to offer

It could be many things, i.e., heat, power supply, etc. It could be your memory (RAM) that is faulty and faulty RAM will cause all kinds of headaches. It could be software issues, hardware issues, etc. You mentioned driver fault which could be a myriad of possibilities.

Here is what we need from you: Minidumps. Minidumps will record important information on what is causing the issues or at least point us to possible causes. Here is how you find them:

1. Go to your C Drive and click it on.

2. Find the Windows Folder and click that on.