Motherboard recommendation

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi everyone,

I'm kind of new to the insides of computers and i'm going to attempt building one (dont worry, a tech friend is going to help me out:)). Anyway, i was wondering about gaming motherboards / CPU's. I've got no idea what people consider a good gaming motherboard or why, for me, I usually just pick a more expensive one and am done with it. The purpose of this motherboard/CPU is to successfully dual log two accounts of DAoC with little to no trouble. I have around 600ish dollars to do this, but I was trying to save a bit for a new video card or ram.

Any recommendations would be awesome!!!

Thank you,
Qtali/Mordrinn

edit: some grammatical mistakes.

64 bit AMDs are pretty good for games, you should look at something like a 4200+ and a Gigabyte K8NS-Pro SLI you could pick them up for under 300 easy.

Hello and welcome to Techspot!

We need a bit more info on what needs to be included in your $600 budget. Is that the budget for mobo/cpu/graphics/ram, or just the mobo/cpu?

Anyways, I'd say if it is a gaming machine you are building, you'll probably want to look at the core 2 duo cpu/motherboards. Dark Age of Camelot doesn't really require that high spec of a system, so you COULD go cheaper and build yourself a nice 939 based system (or AM2) but if you have the cash, you may as well future-proof yourself and get the core 2 duo.

mobo recommendation

Hi and thanks for the welcome,

The 600 dollars I want to spend solely on the motherboard and processor. It'd be nice to "future proof" my computer as you said because I like to game, and these days games require good systems. I currently play dark age of camelot (DAoC), and the main reason I want to do this is to successfully run two instances of DAoC. It's pretty heavy on the multitasking, my current processor can barely handle it.

So any suggestions on motherboards/processors would be sweet!!

Thanks again,
Mordrinn

Okay, I would go with this: