PCChips Mobo Experience?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm replacing my motherboard soon and I'm looking at this one here:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813185044

It's a PCChips M-955G. First off, I currently have a 1.8GHz Celeron CPU and in one of the reviews somebody said this board does not work to well with celeron processors as opposed to using a P4. Does anyone know if this is true? I'm planning to upgrade to a P4 sometime down the road but for now I'm stuck with my celeron.

Secondly, has anyone had any experience with PCChips mobos before? I'm just trying to figure out if this is a decent board or not. Money is an issue so I have to keep it really cheap and this seems to have some decent features for the price. Any/all comments are welcome, thanks!

PCChips Boards Have a Bad Reputation

I have no personal experience with them, but I also like to learn from other people's mistakes , so I would never buy a PCChips board. If you search the net, I think you'll find more negative responses than positive regarding these boards.

Also, I could be wrong here since I haven't been reading TomsHardware lately, but they never used to include PCChips boards in their testing. To me, that's a red flag - but again, I could be out of date w/ that statement.

When I'm trying to match a mobo with a CPU, I always go to TomsHardware and see how certain boards do in the tests. I also go to Intel's or AMD's website to see what boards they recommend. Other good sites include annandtech.com, hardwareanalysis.com, and one of my favorites - motherboards.org.

Good Luck!

PC Chips motherboards are notorious. Of course this doesn't necessarily mean that you will have problems with your motherboard but the probability is much higher than with a better-known motherboard maker. IMHO you can't go much lower than PC Chips.