Probs with Windows 95

Status
Not open for further replies.

JonB

Hi all, i'm new to TechSpot!

My prob is i'm getting the following when booting up:

"A device file that is specified in the SYSTEM.INI file is damaged. It may be needed to run windows. You may need to run the windows setup program again. If the file is included in another software package, you may need to reinstall the software package that uses the file. C:\WINDOWS\VMM32\NTKERN.VXD Press a key to continue"

nb Using following spec;

CPU: pent 3. MBrd: J-MARK J-9BXAS. Mem: SDRAM 128mb PC133. HDD: 2gb Win 95. CD-ROM: CD R/DVD R. FDD: Standard.

Help appreciated, regards Jon

So, i've since altered my bios to boot from CD-ROM, but even though it recognises the CD-ROM drive in the BIOS it reports 'failure' when attempting to boot from CD-Rom drive (NB no known probs with the Win 95 disk).

Then altered BIOS (Award V4.SIPG by the way) to boot from my bootable FLOPPY (A drive of course), and i get: "IDE/ATAPI CD-ROM Device driver Version 2.11 17:38:39 06/07/96 Illegal operation encountered: D:CD01 CD-ROM drive not found #0 found on 178h port device, v1W29.
A:\>A:\MSCDEX.EXE /D:CD01 Device driver not found: 'CD01'. No valid CDROM device drivers selected
".

nb contents of my bootable floppy are :bounce: ;

command.com
fdisk.exe
mscdex.exe
himem.sys
vide-cdd.sys
config.sys
autoexec.bat
v330_11c.sys
readme.txt
setup.exe
setup.cfg

(nb the setup file installs v330_11c.sys to c:\cdrom, which i thought was a universal cdrom device driver)

but when i try at a:\ prompt to cd to d:\ or c:\ i can't do it!

so still cant seem to even get PC to read CD-ROM with WIN95 so as to reinstall.