Programming

Status
Not open for further replies.

mopar man

If I were going to start learning how to create different programs, how would I start? Should I start by reading, downloading a program, or what? I tend to suck at learning through reading, so I'd prefer to go through a program teaching me how to program with different "languages"(I guess that'd be what you call them).

Thanks.

Look for something like ITT Tech, DeVry or a community college course
on programming.

Well, I'm planning on doing that, but considering I'm a freshman in high school I doubt any colleges/ Technical Colleges will let me in right now...lol.

I would like to start kind of early so I can start now and will be even better when I do get into college.

Sorry for not saying something about that at first.

Apply for the Computer Science course at your high school.

I chose all computer-related courses at my high school. However, the high-school computer classes move very slowly and teach very basic concepts. I find all of those classes boring.

In my opinion you'd be much better off learning on your own by using the power of the internet. Most teenagers (myself included) who are interested learn about computers by self-educating. Personally, I learned most of the stuff I know through Google and Forums (like this one).

Good Luck! :)

Thank you.

Now my only question is that because there are so many things that I need to learn, is it possible to tell me where to start?

I suggest going to Amazon and searching for books on the language you want to learn first. As most books come with softare for the language it teaches, it is pretty simple to read and do what the book says on the computer. I have found that programming was probabalythe easiest thing I have learned about computers, and I did it pretty much all on my own through books and practicing the examples. Then if there is something you dont understand... then research that on the internet.