Random Restarts, Sometimes BSOD

Status
Not open for further replies.

mowsey

Hey i need some serious support, i'm totally stuck and have no idea what's going on.

While i'm running my computer doing what i do (at the moment it's just some light usage, installing stuff, iTunes, Firefox) and for absolutely no reason whatsoever my system just restarts, black screen and a bleep, just like when i turn my system on normally from an off state.

I have write caching disabled as that seems to extend the length of time i can use my computer before a restart.

Recently i tried installing Vista Ultimate as well and i got a BSOD every time i tried that, i'll try uploading some minidumps but could someone walk me through how to do it? i'm new to the whole dump thing and stuff.

PLEASE HELP I LITERALLY SCREAM EVERY TIME THIS HAPPENS, IT'S DRIVING ME INSANE!

Given the BSOD and random restarts, I think the first place o look is memory.

If you have two or more memory modules, trying using only one at a time and see if you can reproduce the issue. It could be an incompatible RAM module or a failed module... This will help you figure it out through trial and error.

If you don't feel comfortable swapping around memory modules or would jsut rather not, the next best option is a memory diagnostic test such as www.memtest.org

The minidump location is found in the event log,

start, control panel, administrative tools, event viewer, system, 'save dump' -you'll have to look though to find save dump.

the save dump will contain the error, and the minidump, usually found in C, windows, minidump ( i beleive)

to attach them, open a topic, or reply, under 'aditional options' manage attachments, a new window will open, browse to the location of the minidump, hit upload, repeat for ea. mindump

close this window' -- manage attachment window

then submit topic, the attachments will be there on the reply