Salvaging HDD from broken Acer Aspire 6530

Hi,

My Acer Aspire 6530G just broke down all of a sudden this morning. I looked away for one second, and when i looked back the screen was suddenly pitch black. There's a light that usually goes on when the AC adapter is connected, but it won't now. I had a spare AC adapter, so I tried that one out too just to make sure (even though the light on the AC adapter is on like it should), nothing, I try and remove battery, etc etc and well, the thing is pretty much dead. I'm not a techie but my guess is that the internal power supply (power board? this thing*) just decided to call it quits. Of course, that's just my uninformed guess. The computer is 2 1/2 years old and ironically I was one day late when I tried to extend the original 1 year insurance to a 3 year thing.

Since I wasn't all too happy with the laptop anyway I'd be happy to move on and buy a new one (while trying to get this one fixed, of course), but the last back-up I did was 3 weeks ago and I have some stuff on it's hard drive I'd prefer not to lose.

So, while I'd appreciate guesses of what could have gone wrong with the computer and how to fix it, I'm much much more interested in finding out how to get access to the data on the hard drive (which i suppose should be intact - is that OK to assume?)

I suppose I need to take it (them) out? Like this** and this***? But what would be the next spep, how do I get access to the data on them?

Any help would be very much appreciated.

(I don't have the post count to include URL's and I figure the right answer isn't to go spam the boards with my uninformed opinions that aren't likely to help anybody... here are the links, truncated
* acerlaptoprepairs.info/aspire-6530-6530g/removing-the-power-board.html
** acerlaptoprepairs.info/aspire-6530-6530g/removing-the-main-hard-disk-drive-module.html
*** acerlaptoprepairs.info/aspire-6530-6530g/removing-the-secondary-hard-disk-drive-module.html