SATA hard drive not recognized

Hi everyone

I am a newbie so please be gentle.

One morning my XP machine only booted the the XP screen and the blue harizontal bar just kept going in a loop and no further. Tried booting in safe mode and received the BSOD. Tried installing a fresh copy of XP to be told no drives were detected on the system.

Have now bought a new SATA hard drive, and disconnected the old one. On boot-up the new drive is NOT auto-detected and the BIOS states that no hard drive was found. There is no setting in the BIOS to manual force a drive recognition.

If I disconnect the cables attached to the new disk and reconnect the old disk the original problem is shown, which I am asuming means the cables are OK.

The motherboard is an ASUS A8V Deluxe, and the new drive is a Samsung HD 502HJ.

This is driving me daft and fast approaching a drop test of the computer from a great height!

Any suggestions gratefully appreciated.

Thanks Pygmus, as soon as my wife gives the necessary admin to load this I will try (it's her laptop I am using to get answers for my PC!). I understand how this is needed to load a new install of windows, but why is the disk not recognised by the BIOSm like the old one? Is it because it has not yet been formatted?

Completed new installation disk to no avail.

Downloaded from ASUS site latest BIOS drivers for SATA and SATA RAID. Loaded these during boot from XP installation disk, and XP still shows no disk is connected. Using same cables etc old drive is recognised but will not go past XP start-up logo.

What a week to give up sniffing glue!

You may have to place a jumper over some pins on the back of the hard drive to force 'legacy' sata mode on a board that old....

Thanks guys for all the advise to help keep my sanity!

I have located the following drivers:

SATA 150 TX Series driver (named in motherboard instructions)
Promise SATA 378 driver (from ASUS web site)
Fasttrak 376/378 driver (from ASUS web site)