Setting up a wireless home network

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, newbie here and desperately needing your help.

I got a free wireless access point (ASUS WL-330) when I bought my laptop.
It says that it's a 3-in-1 hardware: Ethernet, Wireless Access Point and Brisge. I really don't know much about networking computers but here's what I wanted to do:
Network my desktop and my laptop - use the wireless access point on the desktop and connect my laptop to the desktop through WiFi. I'm hopinh through this set up I can share my DSL connection on my desktop to my laptop.

Do I need to purchase another hardware (hub or router) to make this set up work? Or will the Wireless AP suffice? Also, how do I go about networking my Desktop and Laptop (wireless).

No need to shout..

That 3-in-1 is just buzzwords. AT most you can say you have a 2-in-1 device that supports wifi and ethernet.

No, you don't need any extra hardware. Set up the AP as described in the manual. Once the wireless works you configure the network just like you would for a wired connection - there is no difference.

For intrenet you will have to use the Windows internet connection sharing. Or buy a wired broadband router (those are cheap now that the wireless is the all the rage) for a more robust solution.

That's where the problem begins. First, I don't know a thing about networking. I really don't understand what the manual is saying.

So I connect the AP to the desktop (as an AP right?). I also need to install the utilities that came with the AP. That should take care of the networking? What about the SSID, IP etc. How do I deal with that.

Sorry for all the questions...really a virgin with networking.

I have a Linksys WiFi AP, it might be similar to yours in the way you set it up. Connect the cable from your DSL modem to the WLAN port on the back of the AP. Then connect your desktop through a ethernet cable to any port usally 1-4 on the back of the AP. Now install the software.