Special effects

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grixti

Im not sure if this is the right thread to post this but close enough...

I am going on to uni to study special effects and was wandering what would be the best specification PC for this job. Any info on this subject would be great.

I was also considering whether to get a PC or a Mac so any advice in regards to that would also be much appreciated.

Thanks!

depends on your wallet as well. I'm currently studying Virtual Effects Artist and we work with Macs, because we also learn only Mac-stuff like Final Cut.

At home I've got a QuadCore for the 3D renderings with 2GB of RAM, which is WAY to little. thinking of upgrading it to 4 or maybe even 8GB, because the prices are so low. But basically a DualCore with min. 2GB RAM and 50GB spare free disk space will do.

Video special effects. I dont really know anything about it but if i get into that area i want to have the best equipment possible.

I want to be editing real footage and adding 3D special effects etc. If anyone has some good sources of info on this subject that would be great!

TechnoFeather,
Does the fact that you have a PC at home and Macs where you study work ok together? Do you get problems transferring stuff from uni(or wherever you are studying) to home?

I dont really know anything about the difference in file formats with graphics software on PCs and Macs.

Good question. The only problem that I've got is the fileformat. On the PC I have of course NTFS, which Macs can read but they cannot write on it. One can use the FAT32 on an external HD, but then again you cannot have any files bigger than 4GB - which if you have a uncompressed video is really rather tiny!