Stumped at HD+BIOS issue

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone.
This is my first time posting here, didn't know you were here until I found you today. And of course I only sought out help because I am having some major computer problems. Anyway, here's my issue and I hope somebody has some ideas.

My computer had a major heart attack a couple nights ago which has degraded to not being able to boot up because "...\windows\system32\config\system is either missing or corrupt". I try to run the setup on my windows xp disk but after if finishes loading up I can't do anything because it doesn't recognize that I have a hard drive connected.

Now I know that my bios doesn't see my hard drive, it never has, but until now it's never been a problem. I have the latest drivers for my A7V600-X motherboard. I can't seem to get the bios to see my 80 gig Deskstar SATA hard drive, either automatically or manually. Any ideas?

The BIOS has to see the hard drive, otherwise you are not able to boot from it.

Maybe the hard drive is dead? Turn off and unplug your computer. Open it up and unplug-replug all the cables connecting to the hard drive. Go to BIOS setup and make sure all hard drive controllers are enabled and that drives themselves are set to auto-detect.

I've already checked all the connections, everything appears to be connected, and I can boot up to the command prompt and mess around with the c: drive in DOS.

For the last two years evertime my comp boots up it has looked something like this:
Primary Master: None
Primary Slave: Toshiba CD-ROM
Secondary Master: None
Secondary Slave: None

I have everything set to auto detect in the BIOS settings, and after it goes through that then it would boot up normally to XP. I tried to manually set the hard drive in the primary master spot but every setting that I did just gave me "Primary Master failed".