Very Irritating Virus

Status
Not open for further replies.
First let me state that I am not using my own computer because this virus, as a side effect, is keeping me from logging into the internet. Therefore downloading things will be a very...very...big problem.

Okay, my uncle switched out the router in our house, but when I tried to get onto the network through the wireless adapter (I'm the only wireless user in the house) it wouldn't connect right. So my uncle figured we could disable the network thing I was using and then reconfigure it or something (I'm not good with technology...most of what he says is greek to me).

Anyway, when we tried to disable it, it gave the message, "Cannot disable at this time." It said something about another person or something using it. My uncle said that meant there was something on my computer trying to send something through the internet connection which was keeping us from disabling it.

So we went through this whole ordeal trying to figure it all out. Basically what we found is this thing in the task manager that shouldn't be there. We tried to end the process, but it just came back as another nonsensical task. Random names like qualapa or bvaszk and things like that. We located it in the System32 folder and identified it as the renaming thing of evil. My uncle said there was some other program restarting and renaming it, but we don't have any idea how to fix this irritating problem.

If anyone can help me get rid of this evil little renaming virus, I would be very appreciative. Remember though, that I cannot access the internet on the infected computer...so anything I do will have to be through my harddrive...

Welcome to Techspot!
Since you admit to being new at his I'll start with a couple of things for you to try.
-Try to disable the network adapter in" Safe Mode" ( Start the computer and you steadily ckick f8 as soon as you see the Boot screen (Ram test) stop).