Want to upgrade my motherboard and cpu

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yes this is my first time posting here. I have a Emachine W3410 With an MSI RS480M-IL motherboard and a AMD Athlon 64 3200+ 2.2GHz processor. What I'm trying to do is figure out what size motherboard and what kind of mobo i can use in it and what i would need to do to replace it. This is just an upgrade so I can run my games better. Also you may need to know that I want to stay with my PC3200 DDR 400MHz Ram chips which I have 2 that equals 2 gigs and want to stay with my new Sapphire ATI Radeon X1600PRO Advantage Edition 446MHz DDR clock speed at 256 MB Video Card And all the other stuff it came with from HD to my two dvd/cd burners to which all is IDE.
Also would I have to do anything to my current windowsXP sp2 home edition because emachines told me i would have to get another copy of it and install it and would it be a good idea to upgrade my psu as well and if so what kind do you recommend.

Before you do anything: replace the power supply with something more reliable

If you got your hands on a OEM/retail Windows install CD you could just reinstall it using the same key that eMachines gave you.

Beyond that it seems like all you really need is a motherboard that supports 184-pin DDR and has two IDE slots.

Whats your budget at? I'm sure lots of people could recommend good mobo/cpu combos depending on the price range.