Warning! GMAIL phishing scam!

By RealBlackStuff ยท 11 replies
Sep 27, 2005
Post New Reply
  1. Warning! THIS IS A PHISHING SCAM! Do NOT react upon it!

    This morning I received the following FALSE email,
    titled Account Alert from someone who pretends to be admin@gmail.com

    Warning! THIS IS A PHISHING SCAM! Do NOT react upon it!
  2. Masque

    Masque TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 1,058

    Thanks RBS.....good info.
  3. tomrca

    tomrca TS Rookie Posts: 1,000

    what does phishing term mean?
  4. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 24,177   +19

    This is taken from Wikipedia.

    Hope this helps.

    P.S Thanks for the info RBS.

    Regards Howard :) :)
  5. tomrca

    tomrca TS Rookie Posts: 1,000

    that was 1st class...cheers!
  6. Finchy

    Finchy TS Rookie Posts: 353

    Thanks for the warning RBS
  7. teteu_simon

    teteu_simon TS Rookie

    I receive an e-mail from this person (admin@gmail.com), but not with this message, in the subject was writing: YOU WON $500! Gmail congratulates you!

    in the mail he put this:


    YOU WON $500!

    Gmail gives members random cash prizes. Today, your account is randomly selected as the one of 12 top winners accounts who will get cash prizes from us. Please click the link below and follow instructions on our web site. Your money will be paid directly to your e-gold, PayPal, StormPay or MoneyBookers account.

    Click here to get your prize:


    The Gmail.com staff
    Gmail.com http://www.gmail.com

    SO, be careful with these e-mails from (admin@gmail.com).
    thank you,
    good bye.
  8. mephisto_007

    mephisto_007 TS Guru Posts: 228

    This may sound like a stupid question but how do we know which one real or which one is fake, since the address is from [admin@gmail.com] clearly shown how genuine it is. or is there a way for those phisher to forge an email address from [blahblah@blahblah.com] to [admin@gmail.com]?

    By the way thankx for the caution.
  9. AMDIsTheBest010

    AMDIsTheBest010 TS Rookie Posts: 398

    Thanks for the lookout everyone
  10. teteu_simon

    teteu_simon TS Rookie

    When I was checking my messages I saw something strange in that mail, like the subject of the mail, google never will give part of yout money to users, its obvious.
    I guess the mail can be made by everyone, because you can choose what you want to be your gmail adress, I guess someone takes and create this gmail, just to pass to people trojan and virus.
  11. akaivan

    akaivan TS Maniac Posts: 470

    thanks 4 tha heads up..im sure it will be fixxed soon tho...
  12. Jaibe

    Jaibe TS Rookie

    Well, I apparently got one of these messages to one of my gmail accounts, but it was in Spanish & then I don't check that account very much. So apparently google decided to email me to my "backup" email account, and apparently they decided it would be a good idea to do that in Korean (I may have been in Korea when I registered the account in question, or I may have told them I was Korean, who knows -- I tend to make up crap like birthdays rather than trust companies with all my private info)

    Anyway, this is what the google Korean to English translator told me the second (apparently real) message said:

    Under setting visit the password against you [my address]@gmail.com Google accounts the cotton lower part link again coldly. When the click chart it is not connected an http://www.google.com/accounts/[stuff]l=ko dignity link, copy URL in the new browser window and attach and. It uses Google and it gives and from it thanks. With you accounts about under relating there is a doubt fact and it visits Google accounts FAQ of site afterwords the cotton it wishes. http://www.google.com/help/faq_accounts.html the mail is the sending whole aspect mail. To the sliced raw fish shoes against this message answer back, it does not give.


    I assume "sliced raw fish shoes" is Korean for phishing?

    The emails I've got from real google people are from google.com, not gmail.com. Also, rather than clicking any links (in response to a spanish email, see below) I replied directly to admin@gmail.com, and it said "account deleted") I suppose anyone could have asked for "admin" at gmail.com, or any number of things.

    The Korean email I mention below is from accounts-noreply@gmail.com, which I think is also an authentic address (certainly they prefer you go through their forms & get a problem number if you are talking to them about specific bugs.)

Similar Topics

Add your comment to this article

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...