Status
Not open for further replies.

Smartmike

Hello I want to find out what virus protection is better out of the following:
Defender-Pro
Mcafee
Norton
Or any others.

Out of that list, none of them. Avg is very good and free. Etrust antivirus is extremely good if you want to pay for it.

I agree with Rik, none of them are much better than taping a duck to your case. (Rik will know what i mean ;))

These are good programs, and all free:

Anti virus: AVG or Avast - use only ONE

Anti-spyware: Spybot S&D and Ad-aware - use both

Firewall: Kerio, Comodo or ZoneAlarm - use only ONE
There are multiple version of Zone Alarm, one of which is the free, firewall only version.

what they said ^

If you feel better paying for virus protection:
Bit Defender and Kaspersky are ranked among the best

If you look at their ratings AVG is right there with them and its free, but Kaspersky does scan the same # of files 3 times faster

id say, out of those 3, nortin or defender pro (i have no experience with it though) would be the best. mcaffee is by far the WORST virus protection my parents and i have EVER seen. on my parents old pc, it let in 6 backdoor trojans, not to mention a slew of other viruses and such, without doing a thing. id say norton is pretty good, but ever since the 2nd to last time i had problems with my pc and came here for help, ive moved to avg free, and it very good.

edit: o and btw, the backdoors were all a variant of trojan.backdoor.death . any idea what they do? lol, besides make your pc not work.

Sorry, but how can anyone say Norton is good when it's been proven time and time again to be utter crap. Just have a look at all the hjt logs in the Security and the Web forum for example.
The 2 types of most badly infected pc's are 1 - pc's with no protection 2 - pc's with Norton on there.
Go look for yourself, there is plenty of proof to back up what I'm saying.

I think DP is good