Windows XP Pro only $39.95!?, Can this be real?

By cremedies · 15 replies
Apr 2, 2004
Post New Reply
  1. Here is another scam that has been going around. They claim to be selling OEM versions of all types of software with no box or instructions and this is why it is so cheap!

    Has anyone ever heard of them and if so are they real? Worth taking a risk? Your input would be greatly appreciated. The link appears below.

    I know that I'm not willing to risk sending them any money but that's just me!

  2. StormBringer

    StormBringer TS Maniac Posts: 2,244

    Some of these places are quite legit. I don't know which ones are and aren't but I'm pretty sure most of the ones I've seen with ads in Computer Shopper and PC World magazines are probably legit, as they have been running for years.
  3. Rick

    Rick TechSpot Staff Posts: 4,572   +65

    No way.. Don't do it!

    This seems like a rip-off to me... Let me tell you why:

    1.) The payment section is not hosted on a secure site, so your credit card information is not encrypted or the least bit secure.

    2.) There are no address listed for the business itself.

    3.) Claims of "International shipping" sounds pretty bogus already. If this operation is overseas, there's no way to protect your credit card.

    4.) The domains .biz and .info in conjunction with their "" address let's me know they haven't been around for awhile. February 12, 2004 to be exact. ;)

    5.) The domain was registered in China, which is notorious for fake softwares. They look good... (although often there are mispellings. ha!), but they are not holographic discs because they are not the real discs. If you order one and you actually receive it... I think you'll find this is a professional pirated version. I've seen them myself.

    6.) And the shipment time of "up to 6 weeks" sounds completely bogus. Just enough to time to rip you off and void your ability to chargeback.

    Here's the domain registration information for

    Give him a call. ;)

    Domain Name: OEMPROSPECT.BIZ
    Domain ID: D6255610-BIZ
    Sponsoring Registrar: DIRECT INFORMATION PVT. LTD., (D.B.A. DIRECTI.COM)
    Domain Status: clientTransferProhibited
    Registrant ID: DI_294529
    Registrant Name: Mika Lee Chung
    Registrant Organization: CN PROSPECTS UNDO LLC.
    Registrant Address1: jhueng str, 3/4, apt. 489
    Registrant City: Katoma
    Registrant Postal Code: dsk346qbx
    Registrant Country: China
    Registrant Country Code: CN
    Registrant Phone Number: +99.8392894626
    Registrant Email:
    Administrative Contact ID: DI_294529
    Administrative Contact Name: Mika Lee Chung
    Administrative Contact Organization: CN PROSPECTS UNDO LLC.
    Administrative Contact Address1: jhueng str, 3/4, apt. 489
    Administrative Contact City: Katoma
    Administrative Contact Postal Code: dsk346qbx
    Administrative Contact Country: China
    Administrative Contact Country Code: CN
    Administrative Contact Phone Number: +99.8392894626
    Administrative Contact Email:
    Billing Contact ID: DI_294529
    Billing Contact Name: Mika Lee Chung
    Billing Contact Organization: CN PROSPECTS UNDO LLC.
    Billing Contact Address1: jhueng str, 3/4, apt. 489
    Billing Contact City: Katoma
    Billing Contact Postal Code: dsk346qbx
    Billing Contact Country: China
    Billing Contact Country Code: CN
    Billing Contact Phone Number: +99.8392894626
    Billing Contact Email:
    Technical Contact ID: DI_294529
    Technical Contact Name: Mika Lee Chung
    Technical Contact Organization: CN PROSPECTS UNDO LLC.
    Technical Contact Address1: jhueng str, 3/4, apt. 489
    Technical Contact City: Katoma
    Technical Contact Postal Code: dsk346qbx
    Technical Contact Country: China
    Technical Contact Country Code: CN
    Technical Contact Phone Number: +99.8392894626
    Technical Contact Email:
    Name Server: NS1.MOROZREG.BIZ
    Name Server: NS2.MOROZREG.BIZ
    Name Server: NS3.MOROZREG.BIZ
    Name Server: NS4.MOROZREG.BIZ
    Name Server: NS5.MOROZREG.BIZ
    Created by Registrar: DIRECT INFORMATION PVT. LTD., (D.B.A. DIRECTI.COM)
    Last Updated by Registrar: DIRECT INFORMATION PVT. LTD., (D.B.A. DIRECTI.COM)
    Domain Registration Date: Wed Feb 11 14:57:28 GMT 2004
    Domain Expiration Date: Thu Feb 10 23:59:59 GMT 2005
    Domain Last Updated Date: Wed Feb 11 14:57:33 GMT 2004
  4. cremedies

    cremedies TS Rookie Topic Starter


    I kinda figured as much. I just wanted to see if anyone here has had any experience with them. I didn't really need the software but was only curious.

    I think they are the same company that used to go by the name of CDCHEAP about 6 months ago. The prices are exactly the same.

    Thanks for the thorough investigation though.
  5. ---agissi---

    ---agissi--- TechSpot Paladin Posts: 1,978   +15

    lol......cremedies, your sig :haha:

    I dont see why microsoft doesnt give Mika a call.
  6. cremedies

    cremedies TS Rookie Topic Starter

    yea, well...I hope it's not a conflict of interest.

    If someone says something...then I will address it.

    Take care.
  7. vassil3427

    vassil3427 TS Rookie Posts: 640

    Not to mention, notice the cute little line "This software is recognized as a backup software." while describing the media you'll recieve...
  8. BrownPaper

    BrownPaper TS Rookie Posts: 407

    if its too good to be true, more likely than not, it is too good to be true. buyer beware.
  9. Rick

    Rick TechSpot Staff Posts: 4,572   +65

    He could be selling licenses with burned copies of the software.

    Would this be legal? :\
  10. Steg

    Steg TS Rookie Posts: 269

    Hum....the site appears to be down.
    Maybe he got jumped on by the authorites?

  11. vassil3427

    vassil3427 TS Rookie Posts: 640

    hehe...If so someone probably reported him to MS...
  12. Rick

    Rick TechSpot Staff Posts: 4,572   +65

    I reported him to his webhost. hehe!
  13. SNGX1275

    SNGX1275 TS Forces Special Posts: 10,742   +421

  14. PanicX

    PanicX TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 669

    You don't even need to include the software, you can sell the licenses alone.
  15. Mictlantecuhtli

    Mictlantecuhtli TS Evangelist Posts: 4,345   +11

    Well this is old news but XP Pro for $39.95 can be real:

  16. Greeno

    Greeno TS Rookie Posts: 281 dont even work for me...

    you 'can' copy you're own media disks, but not distribute them, as in, for back up purposes only.

    Is he selling OEM software?... this can't be done anyway, without it being loaded by a computer OEM, on their premisis according to MS over here (UK). Though, if you've got an old PC... and you simply buy a new mouse and have someone load you a spanking (cheap) new copy of XP or whatever... thats legal!...

    I've just read this again, and it dont make much sense to me :p

    oh well...

Similar Topics

Add your comment to this article

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...