BSOD with 0x00000024 STOP Error Message

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi All,

Before I start I just want to let you all know that I'm quite new to all this, so forgive me if I have left anything out! :)

I have a Compaq V5101AU laptop computer with Windows XP Home Edition.

A couple of days ago I tried turning it on, and after the Windows start up screen loaded it came up with a BSOD with the following error message:

STOP: 0x00000024 (0x00190203, 0x83178AE0, 0xC0000102, 0x00000000)

I have identified this error from a previous post titled: Stop Error 0x00000024 (03-06-2006)

I have followed the directions as instructed by howard_hopkinso but it doesn't seem to work.

The CD starts to load and comes up with a black page with white text.

At the end of the text it says a mouse is not connected. I have checked the mouse and have tried it in all the other USB ports, and have even unplugged the mouse, still after 20 minutes nothing happens.

I stupidly put a password on my BIOS Setup a while ago and cannot remember it, but I can get to boot screen by pressing ESC at start up.

Is there anyone that can please help? I am not the most tech savvy person out there, and have already spent over 5 hours trying to work this thing out :(

You will most likely need to post this eventually in the Mobile forum but you can try the following:

1. Go to Hewlett Packard's website (they bought Compaq), find your model and download their latest drivers for your system. Does this bring you stability.

2. Sometimes CD Drives go bad. You might need to replace it.

Here is your error as described by auhma.org:

0x00000024: NTFS_FILE_SYSTEM