Orphan Files recovered became CORRUPTED or 0kb

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi to everybody,
first of all sorry for my poor English and for the errors I will surely make while posting (I'm also a newbie!).
I have @ home an AMD64mb 3000+ , ASUS K8v motherboard and MAXTOR 200Gb HD (quite new, some months old) divided in 2 partitions (1 for Windows XP Professional with SP1 about 20gigs and one for data that is 180 gig).

Two days ago I brought my HD to a friend, we put it as Slave (of course we had to) and I had a quite big surprise: CHECKDSK (the one that starts automatically before loading Windows) found ORPHAN FILES and it deleted or recovered them.
Well, I had on the data partition (180 gig totally) about 150 gig of stuff, after the chckdsk (at the first launch of WIndows) I discovered to have just 120 gig !? A lot of files were 0Kb (!?! they were 700mb files !?) and other went corrupted. I treied yesterday @ my home but I still see corrupted files and 0kb files. I tried a complete checkdisk on my pc and a lot of applications but the files are always there corrupted and unreadable.

The pc of my friend was an Intel with Asus Motherboard BUT with windows 2000.

Hope somebody may help, thanx in advance!

Almost exactly the same thing happened to me yesterday...

I was doing a Windows reinstall, so I backed up all my data on my second HD and took it out. Something horrible always happens when I reformat my HD, so I like to keep my files out of reach...

When I plugged it back in, Scandisk pops up during startup saying the drive needs to be checked for consistency. After a few minutes of "Rebuilding Index"es "Recovering Orphaned File"s, Windows loads and 60-70% of the files on the drive are corrupt.

The PC was always unplugged when transferring drives... What went wrong? And is there any hope for my data?

Chkdsk sometimes causes a loss of data because repairs usually changes the disk’s file allocation table.