I hear sound but videos won't play

I have gone through other threads on this topic but am having trouble using the advice. I am NOT a computer pro in any way, so could you try to dumb-down your explanations ("explain it to me like I'm 5") to the level of someone who does not know that acronyms and has VERY basic computer knowledge? Thanks!!

My computer was running VERY slow so I went to the Task Manager and stopped a lot of the programs from running, based on some advice I got on the issue. The computer does run faster now, however, I recently found that videos don't play on it. I can hear the sound from the video, but the video does not show up correctly - when I move the mouse around the location of where it should be playing on the screen the video flashes for a very brief second and goes away again.

I tried uploading a new flash player but that did not work. Where and what should I be looking for that I may have stopped from running or deleted from my computer? I played a YouTube video that was listed on AOL and it worked just fine, but most other videos are not working. Thanks in advance!

Do you mean "videos" like youtube stuff or DVD movies?
I have had a similar problem with all kinds of movies and then the problem was bad drivers and I only needed to download new (graphics) drivers and then everything worked just fine. You could also try to update your graphics drivers but what graphics card have you got..?

Anyhow, if your computer is slow you could try to clean it up a bit, uninstall toolbars that you dont use, run ccleaner (Cleaner and Registry) then you could also defragment with Auslogics Disk Defrag.