Referenced Memory Error

By Biznich
Nov 15, 2003
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Placeholder

    Placeholder Newcomer, in training Posts: 21

    More on this...

    I just ran into this as well (on WIN2K, SP4) and found that it seems to be related (in my case anyway) to the Microsoft Indexing Service. After I disable it it seems to have stopped the errors, tho I'm not sure if it has to do with stopping the service or taking it off of 'instant update'. Either way it wasn't doing what it was supposed to, which is index in the background when your computer is idle.

    Try this for more: http://ask-leo.com/cidaemon.html

    Good luck - thanks for the background footwork. Frustrating error.

    PH
  2. Spiderwym

    Spiderwym Newcomer, in training

    To All referenced memory errors...

    Hello All,

    These pesty memory errors sure can create havoc on anyones pc...Thru past experiences, I have found a quick fix for them by doing the following...

    1. Have your Windows Xp CD in your Cd Drive and go to:

    http://www.updatexp.com/scannow-sfc.html

    2. The main reason for using this utility is when you suspect there may be a problem with a Windows XP system file.

    Perhaps you get a dialog box appear informing you of a problem with a .dll file, or your program will just not load! It is therefore worth checking to see if there are any corrupt system files using scannow sfc.

    To do this simply go to the Run box on the Start Menu and type in:

    sfc /scannow

    This command will immediately initiate the Windows File Protection service to scan all protected files and verify their integrity, replacing any files with which it finds a problem.

    This will fix all memory errors and hopefully, help all you fine folks out...

    Good Luck!!! :wave: :wave:
  3. Spiderwym

    Spiderwym Newcomer, in training

    To All referenced memory errors...

    Hello All,

    These pesty memory errors sure can create havoc on anyones pc...Thru past experiences, I have found a quick fix for them by doing the following...

    1. Have your Windows Xp CD in your Cd Drive and go to:

    http://www.updatexp.com/scannow-sfc.html

    2. The main reason for using this utility is when you suspect there may be a problem with a Windows XP system file.

    Perhaps you get a dialog box appear informing you of a problem with a .dll file, or your program will just not load! It is therefore worth checking to see if there are any corrupt system files using scannow sfc.

    To do this simply go to the Run box on the Start Menu and type in:

    sfc /scannow

    This command will immediately initiate the Windows File Protection service to scan all protected files and verify their integrity, replacing any files with which it finds a problem.

    This will fix all memory errors and hopefully, help all you fine folks out...

    Good Luck!!! :wave:
  4. Gunny

    Gunny Newcomer, in training Posts: 79

    You should run sfc /scannow regularly, say once a week. I do.
  5. EddyMejia

    EddyMejia Newcomer, in training

    Referenced Memory Error New.net removed

    I had a similar problem my error message was;
    The instructions at "0x7c9105f8" referenced memory at "0x02630010". The memory could not be "read".
    Also I noticed when I was surfing the web and open up a new window by right clicking on a link and selecting "Open in New Window" that my address bar was blanked and I could not type anything in it.
    I removed a program called new.net from "Add or Remove programs" in my control panel and it seemed to have fixed both problems.
  6. satnone

    satnone Newcomer, in training

    sometimes its like people forget what the process of elimination is.. its not SP2 obviously cause i get this same garbage and i have win2k.. its not memory cause ive tested my memory with memtest86 and i got 0 errors.. its not caused by explorer or your favorite game.. cause ive gotten this with almost every application on my computer.. so we can rule all those out simply by just one person.. another thing ide like to add like someone else said earlier.. it seems to happen when closing the app.... somebodys gotta know what is causing this...
  7. Mictlantecuhtli

    Mictlantecuhtli TechSpot Evangelist Posts: 4,916   +9

  8. Imp

    Imp Newcomer, in training Posts: 26

    it sounds to me like its an incompatabilty with your RAM/mobo possibly the frequency is not in sync with your cpu
  9. satnone

    satnone Newcomer, in training

    i dont know a lot about hardware but finally an idea that sounds pretty good...
  10. unknownzero

    unknownzero Newcomer, in training

    Um, this thing actually causes some blue screens for me, does this mean that my memory could be bad, and I should return it for replacement?
  11. Sub-Conscious

    Sub-Conscious Newcomer, in training

    i found a way to fix it on my machine!!! :angel:


    it had been bugging me for months, every time i closed IE i used to 2 of those error boxes in a row, but the simple solution was to go into internet options, advanced, and uncheck the box called "enable third party browser extensions". now the error has disappeared. i dont know if that will work when other programs cause the error, but if its just IE, try that.
     
  12. satnone

    satnone Newcomer, in training


    if ude look up a couple of replies i kinda already said something about the memory thing.. process of elimination...


    doesnt explain the other applications.. but im giving that a try..
  13. Bonz

    Bonz Newcomer, in training

    Seeking The Truth

    :knock: I have 3 users on a network who get the following error when trying to forward an email that contains an attachment:
    The instruction at "0x61e52c66" referenced memory at "0x00000000". The memory could not be "read".

    Once either user clicks OK to terminate, Outlook crashes with:
    Outlook.exe has generated errors and will be closed by Windows. You will need to restart the program.

    I'm in the process of reviewing logs but the oddity here is that it does not happen when trying to forward every attachment or even a specific type of attachment. In their cases, the error appears when they try to forward an attachment that comes from a specfic user.

    All three are running W2K, SP4. The Outlook is Outlook2000, SP3. According to the users, it just started happening about a week ago.

    Any ideas on this one?
  14. smithju

    smithju Newcomer, in training

    Solution

    I had the same problem you had, I fixed it by un-installing service pack 2 for windows, hope this helps.
  15. satnone

    satnone Newcomer, in training

    well i reinstalled everything and i still got it a couple of times... so im guessing its got something to do with the motherboard.. ive always suspected there was something wrong with my motherboard....
  16. Alamo43

    Alamo43 Newcomer, in training

    I haven't been able to settle on the definitive answer to the problem of referenced memory errors. The replies on this one seem to cover a fairly wide span of possible solutions. Maybe my problem can help establish a cause and hopefully a fix for it.

    I upgraded my AV on the advice of CA and after that (?because of that) I started getting these weird error messages that start off with a box that says autodown.exe application error then goes on to say:the instruction at "0x00e124e5" referenced memory at 0x00e423e0"The memory could not be read. Click OK to terminate the program. Sometimes I get the same message but the headline is about ie.exe.

    I have uninstalled the AV program and reinstalled but to no avail. Am I making the logical error of before this therfore because of this when I point an accusing finger at the AV program or is there a more subtle cause. Anyway although the error message doesn't seem to be doing anything wrong the message itself is becoming a real drag.

    So is there a settled view out there of the problem or better yet the solution?
  17. canyouvtec

    canyouvtec Newcomer, in training

    Here is the SOLUTION

    :unch:
    Ok first of all, I've looked through everyones thread here, I myself have had the same problem with the refrence memory error with ie.exe
    Ive replaced my motherboard, CPU, and the memory, because i was getting BSOD's, and lockups. And now i get these popups with the memory refrence error.

    Here is the reason why you are getting this:

    Bad coding in Internet Explorer - affecting all Windows Products

    IT is VERY unlikely that its hardware related, since this has long been a problem with Windows products, going back as far as Windows 2000.

    And I can almost tell you that Windows will probably never release an update for this, why you may ask? Well lets just say that they cant CODE WORTH &@$# Bill Gates is layin on his lazy billionare #$% helping writing bad code for Windows....I HATE WINDOWS WITH A PASSION. I have an a Apple Powerbook G4, and I ve never been happier, I only built this system because I wanted a gaming computer, and I had to put this $%^# on my computer, because OS X doesnt dominate like this crap does (Windows)

    I was really pissed when i got this, i mean everytime im on windows, its something new thats wrong....why cant Microsoft get the hint and just let people from UNIX redo there ENTIRE OS!?!??!?!?!

    Microsoft is EVIL!!!!!!!

    :hotbounce
  18. cyb3rspy

    cyb3rspy Newcomer, in training

    Application Error - Need Help Please

    Hey guys I got this problem (like the rest of yous do) that I've had for quite some time now (talking 6 or more months) and I've been trying to get rid of it for about the same amount of time.

    The Error Message
    -----------------------------------------
    (app name) - Application Error

    (X) The instruction at "0x01c33195" referenced memory at "0x00000000". The memory could not be "read".
    Click on OK to terminate the program.
    [ OK ]
    -----------------------------------------


    OK the first set of numbers "0x01c33195" always change but the 0x is the same, the other set of numbers "0x00000000" always stay the same and never change.
    Also the app name can be any program.

    I can recreate the problem easily just by opening (running) a program then quitting /exit/ending out of it at which time I'd receive the error msg.

    I've done FULL viral scans plus spyware scans, all with different types of products. I have take out all RAM and replaced it with no luck.

    Just a note: any program I open runs fine and does what ever the program is meant to do with out problems.

    It is not just MS software like IE, Firefox will do it too when I close it (it's not specific to browsers I just used it as examples of not being MS products only).

    My best guess so far is that programs call for some type of instruction from the OS to close but crash instead of executing the close command. but that's my best guess.

    Also thinking it could be a registry problem but not knowing where to look or what to look for, kinda stops me from going there at the moment.

    Also I don't wish to format and re-install, I'd rather work the problem so if I ever come across it again I can fix it for my self or let other know how to fix it.

    Below are most of the pc spec's that has this error but I think the main things to know is the OS type.

    Pc Info (all latest drivers)

    Windows XP Pro
    Firefox (default browser)
    Intel P3 866 MHz
    1.15 gig Ram (sdram)
    2x hhd
    1x dvd rom
    1x cd-r/rw
    NVIDIA GeForce 5600 FX 128mb
    SB live!
    2x nic's
    2x pci to usb cards



    Thx in advance :confused:
  19. pcle

    pcle Newcomer, in training

    Additional Information on Referenced Memory Error

    I read over all posts on this tread and will try some of the fixes, but my problem is a bit different than what I've read.

    I get the same error messages that are described in detail in previous posts. I have WinXP SP2 with all critical updates installed.

    I get a MS Explorer application error (failure to read memory at ###) EVERY time I log into my home computer. My wife, who has her own login on our home computer (we only have two logins) *never* has had this problem.

    Therefore, for me, it is not a hardware problem.

    When I click OK, Explorer restarts, my task bar and desktop refresh, and then all my start up programs continue to load.

    The only time I get this error outside of the startup process when logging into my account is when starting Mozilla Thunderbird. I get this message frequently with Mozilla Thunderbird, but not consistently. My wife also runs Mozilla Thunderbird and she never has this problem, but she does have far fewer extensions to Thunderbird installed then I do.

    I will try some of the suggestions on this list, but I see no reason to play around with memory sticks or mess around with any hardware as it works well for my wife and she is the primary user.

    I have never seen this problem with MS 2000, which I use at work, but others on this list have, so I can't blame SP2 for WinXP.

    My best guess is that Windows Explorer was messed up by some program I installed or some tweak that I made. How can I perform a clean install of Windows Explorer?
  20. Gunny

    Gunny Newcomer, in training Posts: 79

    Referenced memory errors are not always due to physical problems with memory. They can also occur when you are short of available RAM memory.

    You touched on this when you said you have more "extensions to Thunderbird installed". Check in Windows Task Manager to see how many background tasks you have running just after boot up compared with your wife. I suspect you have many more - using up much more RAM and causing you to have this error.

    Other than critical system tasks the only ones you should have running are those that you need continuosly or use frequently. Others you should disable (if you don't need them at all) or set to manual (if you do not need them continuously/frequently) in Windows' Services panel.

    HTH
  21. pcle

    pcle Newcomer, in training

    Gunny, I am sure that you are correct, but the more I try to tweak the system and stop processes from running the more problems I seem to have. I'm tempted to just reformat and reinstall everything, just to get a clean system. I figure that I can can remember what to reinstall, I don't need it. Besides I am anal-rententive about software registration info so I can always re-download and reinstall software that I forgot about but later rediscover a need for.

    But I wonder if it would make sense to simply delete my login and create a new one. My wife isn't complaining about any problems, and copying over all the email and program settings and files I want to migrate to a reinstall is a p.i.t.a.

    Also, I am hesitant to blam Thunderbird. I will do a clean reinstall of TB anyway. With version 1, you were supposed to be able to install over the prior version. But with previous versions that was always taboo. You were to always install in a new folder and delete the prior version if you didn't need it. I'm thinking that most of my problems with my home installation of TB is due to not performing a clean install.

    Yet how would this explain explorer choking at login? My best guess is that it has nothing to do with TB, but -- as you pointed out -- too much starting up at the same time. Some programs that seem to take a while to get started an have always slowed down login times are:

    Active Words - takes forever. But I've come to love and rely on this program so much that I wouldn't want to use Windows without it. I suppose I can just start it manually every time I log in, but what an annoyance that would be.

    ...and I quote. Okay, I don't need this. It pops up a quote when you start the computer and changes your e-mail sig to give a new quote everytime you start it. I'll probably kill it.

    Beyond those two, I think the biggest culprits, ironically, are the various anti-spyware that load at start up. I have Spyware Search and Destroy, which also runs an ap in the background detecting registry changes (which has proven more a p.i.t.a. than useful), PestPatrol that has memory check app that runs at startup, Spyware Guard and Spyware blaster, both which update themselves at startup and run in the background). Since I use Firefox most of the time and only use Explorer for certain sites that Firefox can't display, I don't think that I really need all this anti-spyware running in the background all the time.

    In addition, Zone Alarm Pro and Norton Anti-virus both run in the background and have tasks to perform at startup *and* Norton interferes with spyware, scanning their updates.

    So, uh, yeah, too much going on at startup chokes explorer. It can't get enough memory and faints and needs to be revived. That makes sense.

    Here's the rub. My wife doesn't have this problem. Also, if only I used the computer, I would be happy stop all background anti-spyware processes, but I just don't trust my wife to know how to avoid spyware and web bugs.

    Also, and I don't know if this is related, the title bar in windows explorer always displays as a line of question marks. What would cause this?
  22. Gunny

    Gunny Newcomer, in training Posts: 79

    I think the extra extensions to TB may just be contributing to the problem. I doubt they are the sole cause of the problem.

    I don't know how you are "tweaking" the system but there are several ways to control which processes start up at boot time. Look at the Startup folder in the Start Menu and remove whatever you don't want. But not all processes are started there. Then look at the Startup tab of msconfig and deselect unnecessary processes there and reboot. I use a free utility called Codestuff Starter to control my startup processes.

    You complained about Active Words taking forever. It may be taking forever at startup precisely because a lot of starting processes are contending for run time resources all at the same time. It may be quicker after boot up. Also, like WinWord and other major apps it probably takes a little longer to start only the first time you use it during a session.

    Also, do you use Active Words frequently and continuously all during a typical session. If not, i.e. if you use it for a few minutes once or occasionally during a typical session it would be better to start and stop it when you actually use it. You should ask the same question about every other process that you now have running continuously.

    You have far too many spyware utilities running. I have none. I just scan with Spybot, Ad-aware and HijackThis once a week. You can disable them with Codestuff Starter. You can also prevent many apps from starting at boot up from within the apps themselves. Too many apps when you install them try to get themselves started at boot up and want want to put their icons everywhere - even up one's 'er whatsit (ahem, ahem). :blush:

    I don't know about ZoneAlarm Pro but I have the free ZoneAlarm running continuously with NAV without any problems. I think they are critical. ZA has two processes (zlclient and vsmon) and NAV has about five processes. I also have Spybot's Teatimer utility to warn me of any changes attempted to critical areas of the registry and ask for my permission. In addition I have GoBack running.

    I have even disabled a few Windows processes that I have no use for and which are not critical. For example I have set Windows' Automatic Update to Manual. I start it and set it to Automatic from Windows' Service panel once a week when I check for updates. Then I stop it and set it back to Manual immediately. Occasionally, when I receive a Microsoft Security Bulletin I will do this right away.

    All told, I have 30 processes running just after boot up. Fourteen of them are critical system processes. The rest are the ones I have mentioned above. I am tempted to bet you have many more. And the less RAM you have the more critical all this becomes.

    I don't think you need to do anything as drastic as a reinstall or recreate your logon, etc. Just start cleaning up with Codestuff Starter. I think you can download it from www.majorgeeks.com. Otherwise Google for it.

    I think you are overly worried about your wife and spyware. Aside from the above I don't take any special precautions about that. And I know with certainty that my PC is completely clean. Compare your list of processes with your wife's. Those that do not appear in hers are non-critical and you should weed them out if you don't really need them very frequently or continuously. Things like the quote utility may be nice but ...

    I have not had the question marks in Windows Explorer so I don't know anything about it but I suspect it is very probably related.
  23. Mystara

    Mystara Newcomer, in training

    How about a different direction all together?

    What if the memory reference had to do with the virtual memory file on the disk and windows inability to distinguish the difference between and administrative user and an owner.

    I've had this problem for quite some time on my work computer along with another problem with "sharing violation" errors.

    Ok my thoughts: Everytime you exit out of a program Windows writes all of your latest information into the virtual memory file. If for some unknown reason windows decided that you should no longer have full access to this file, then when the OS tries to read from it, it would be denied. Seeing as the OS thinks this file is memory, not a disk file, you get a reference error rather than a sharing violation error.

    The above explanation would account for the seeming random memory range and the fact that it happens to multiple applications.

    Now what I haven't figured out is how to fix it.

    Suffice it to say, it is not specific to WinXP because I'm on a Win2K system, both of which have documented sharing and access problems.
  24. cpc2004

    cpc2004 Newcomer, in training Posts: 2,044

    The first 64K of windows is inaccessible and it is normal

    This the design of the windows. The first 64k is inaccessible (ie 0x00000000 - 0x0000FFFF). Read or write to the first 64k result in access violation. Program access the first 64k is prohbited and don't treat as it hardware error and usually it is a software error at application. Unless it is hardware problem at the cache memory, the original data at the cache is reset the value to zero. If your PC has hardware error, it will crash with blue screen with bugcheck code 0A, 1E, 50 or 8E.
  25. re-animate

    re-animate Newcomer, in training

    ok im getting the same error as everyone else, however im getting it at start up. the only thing you can do is hit the ok button and when you do it reboots and the same thing happens in an endless loop. ive tired pretty much everything in the thread (except reformatting) and nothing has helped.

    the numbers are 0x77f5234c and 0x0070803c. im not able to get onto my desktop and i have deadlines to meet. anyone have any ideas? im dying over here and microsoft support sucks.
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.